How to Keep Our Motivation

How to Keep Our Motivation

Hi there! How are you doing? I am glad that I can update my blog again!!

Today I want to write about how to keep our motivation. I think everybody has experienced to set up some goals. When you do this, I am sure you have lots of motivation. However, after a while, you figure out that the goal is more difficult than your imaginaion and start losing motivation. It happens to everyone.

To avoid losing motivation, I like setting up small goals. Every time I achieve the small goals, I can feel accomplished and fulfilled. The feelings are good for me to keep motivation.

For example, a couple of weeks ago, I finshed reading a book which has around 1000 pages in English. When I started reading books in English, I had set up the book called ” The Pillars of the Earth ” as one of my small goals. I started reading some kid’s books like “Magic Tree House series” for the first time in English. Since I am a grown up, I couldn’t enjoy reading such books at all. Every time, when I almost gave up to improve my reading skills in English, I imagined the 1000 page book in my mind. It took eight years to achive the small goal, but I finaly did it!

After finishing to read the 1000 page book, I could feel more confidence to read something in English. I think I have improved my reading speed as well. I think before the 1000 page book, I had set up much smaller goals to read as well. When you conquer something, you can gain more confidence and this brings you more motivation. When you achive more difficult goals, your motivation increases.

I want to set up “Gone With The Wind” as my next small goal. The book has over 1000 pages and is a classic. I am weak at reading classics in English. So, it will bring big confidence when I finish reading this! I hope this blog post sounds useful to you to improve yourself.

Thank you for reading my blog post. See you around in two weeks!

-Yumi

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Dec 19, 2018 @ 13:27:26

    Congratulations! I did not read nearly as much this year but have accomplished other small goals. I embroidered a quilt top and have started quilting it. I also finished piecing a quilt I had started much earlier. Next year’s goal will be to get both of them quilted. And to do a little painting.

    Reply

  2. Helga Jaermann
    Dec 19, 2018 @ 14:01:12

    👍👍👍 very goo

    Reply

  3. Emilie Wiley
    Dec 19, 2018 @ 14:27:23

    You are an inspiration to all of us, Yumi. It’s true that if you keep putting one foot in front of the other you’ll reach your goal. Even if sometimes those foot steps are small, you WILL reach your goal. Thanks for this update on your blog!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment