Purple Is for Menopausal Women!?

Today I finished knitting a pair of fingerless gloves. I knitted them for my daughter, but when I showed them to her, she said she didn’t like the color. She told me that color purple was for elderly people. When I listened to her, I was shocked because purple was one of my favorite colors.

For me at the age of 18 I also didn’t like purple and I was not interested in purple colored outfits. However after getting older, it became one of my favorite colors.

Last year I went to Thailand with my Australian friend and we experienced to attend a Gala dinner. We had to wear an appropriate dress because the party was very formal. Although it’s very interesting, some of my international friends are wearing purple gowns. I think purple is one of the best colors for some formal scenes. Although all my friends seem to be very pretty in purple, I’ve heard menopausal women love purple colors.

me and my international painting friends at the Gala dinner, the porcelain painting exhibition in Thailand

me and my international friends at the Gala dinner, the porcelain painting exhibition in Thailand

I don’t think children love purple clothes. My daughter loved PINK when she was a little girl, and it’s universal for girls.

I’m very curious how our brains work for colors and how we think some colors are for mature people. Why majority of little girls like pink? I was different from other girls, and I loved yellow when I was a little girl. Why I loved yellow and why I don’t like yellow at all now? Isn’t it interesting to think about these? Maybe I’m weird because I’m a painter and I’m very interested in colors.

My Favorite Purple Coach Bag

My Favorite Purple Coach Bag

A Pair of My Hand Knitted Fingerless Gloves

A Pair of My Hand Knitted Fingerless Gloves

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helga Jaermann
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 13:38:39

    I love blue nr. 1 and after red and then ……. I think everybody have his color he like. A Lady with dark skin and hair look beautiful in yellow color and a lady with blond hair look better in blue color, that is my idea

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 17, 2013 @ 13:45:01

      Hi, Helga!

      Thank you so much for telling me your opinion! It’s very interesting for me because we don’s choose our outfits for our skin colors, eye colors, hair colors or whatever. All of us, Japanese people have similar colored skin color, eye color and hair color.

      I can imagine how fit yellow color to women whose skin and hair are dark, blue for blond hair. I still remember Marie-Claire in blue was so pretty at the Gala dinner!

      Reply

  2. quynhchu
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 14:10:35

    I think each person with other personality will like the other colours.
    when I was youth, I love blue colour, because it is the colour of ambition. you know, i dream to become the rich like Bill Gates, or something else…
    but now i love more colour,
    I love pink, coz it expresses the feminine,
    i love red, coz it expresses creative,
    …..
    and so on.
    i think the colour which someone love express their personality.
    ^_^

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 17, 2013 @ 14:19:08

      Hi, Quyn.

      It’s interesting you saw ambition in blue. Why blue associated the ambition with you?
      I think warm colors associate people with energy, heat, fire or whatever. Cool colors associate people with ice, cool, cold and so on.

      What do you think red is a color for passion or love? I think people associate the red with blood. Blood associate people with heart. Heart relates to love. That’s my personal opinion.
      Yellow is a warning color in Japan. We can see a lot of yellow signs here and there.

      Maybe, I should write more about these kind of stuff next on my blog entry. Thanks for giving me the idea!

      Reply

  3. mara4africatoalgarve
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 15:07:03

    My favourite colour is blue, but I love read, too. I just remembered a photo of my young, blonde cousin in a purple gown and she looks like a beautiful model from a glossy magazine. Purple is not only for older women!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 17, 2013 @ 16:13:30

      Hi, Mara.

      Thanks for the comment. I’m imagining how beautiful your cousin were…… Some of my international friends also have blond and they were so beautiful in their purple gowns.

      Maybe it’s culture thing, but somehow many Japanese people tend to think purple is for mature people.

      Reply

  4. rumpydog
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 01:34:46

    Jen loves purple too. She got herself a purple comforter cover and curtains for her bedroom because that’s what she wanted. 🙂

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 18, 2013 @ 22:54:56

      Hi, rumpydog.

      Thanks for the comment. Wow, a purple room! I’ve never had the purple room. I prefer green for a room, but I think color lilac is good for the room!

      Reply

  5. Marisol
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 21:09:06

    I love purple color since I was a girl and I continue with this idea. I like red , purple ,pink…bright color

    Reply

    • yumi
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 09:53:54

      Hi, Marisol!

      Thanks for the comment! I also love purple!!!!!

      Reply

      • quynh
        Mar 28, 2013 @ 10:24:59

        Hi Yumi,
        thanks for giving me some knowledge of japanese culture
        Maybe, you are really kind, ^^
        now I am really love the culture of Japan, and really wanna learn Japanese language too,
        so can you help me to learn Japanese language?
        it is my honor when you teach me,
        thanks again,
        looking forward to your reply,
        quynhchu

      • yumi
        Mar 28, 2013 @ 10:44:40

        Hi, Quynh.

        I’m glad that you want to learn Japanese. How do I teach you Japanese?

  6. quynh
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 04:25:29

    i think japanese people are very love purple color,
    because i see many purple stuff in japan

    Reply

    • yumi
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 09:55:46

      Hi, Qyunh.

      Nice to meet you and thanks for visiting my blog.
      I think the black and purple combination is really popular among young girls who love the goth style. However, I don’t think Japanese people love purple.

      -Yumi

      Reply

  7. Megsie
    Sep 18, 2016 @ 21:56:10

    My now early 20s daughter has always loved purple, when younger combined with pink, then blues. Now she likes it with black.

    Reply

  8. Carol Eason
    Oct 04, 2020 @ 00:43:14

    I AM. a tutor of school children, and have found almost every young girl loves purple… so I disagree with your general statement that young girls don’t like purple…. maybe the purple unicorn horns have helped turn this generation toward purple … 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment