Why Do You Learn English?

I read one of my Lang-8 friends’ journal entry today. It was very interesting. In the journal entry he asked why we learned English, and some of Japanese learners left their comments on it.
I think it’s sometimes good for us to make sure and clear our purpose why we learn another language. While learning it, we sometimes forget and loose the purpose. We sometimes loose our motivations of our another language.

In my case, I have some dreams and to make them come true, I’ve been learning English. My dreams are to become an international china artist, teacher and introduce one of our dying art, kutani painting to the world in English. To make my dreams come true, I’ve been learning English for 4 years.

I read some comments on his journal entry. I know many Japanese English learners think English is important in the future to our global society. I’ve heard a lot of commercials and see advertisements that English is important in the future, and we have to prepare the global society. However, when does it become important? Since I was a kid, I’ve been heard the phrases over and over again. I still don’t think everybody needs English in our lives. I think our English relates English business tightly. From younger to elderly many Japanese people are manipulated by mass media and think in a vague way that English is important to our lives.

I think that’s why we can’t improve our English comprehension skills. I also want to ask you why you study English. Can you answer to my question?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Akiko
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 17:24:32

    Yes, you are right, and that’s why my English skill is still poor. I’ve been in the U.S but I didn’t have any purpose to use it. It’s a shame.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 17:34:27

      Hi, Akiko-san.

      Thanks for the comment. Your English skills are not poor and I know it very well. You’d been surviving with your English for 13 years in America and it’s remarkable!

      Today I saw an advertisement of Rotetta Stone on Facebook and I left this blog entry’s link on it, lol. I don’t think Rotetta Stone helps our English and we can master it. I think you know it very well because you lived in America and you’ve still been learning English! English isn’t such the simple language that a tool can help.

      Reply

  2. Helga.jaermann
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 10:23:16

    Yumi sorry I n the moment I am very busy, I am writing to you later, miss you, hugs Helga

    Von meinem iPad gesendet

    Reply

  3. quynhchu
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 11:12:30

    Hi Yumi-san,
    I think your question is very interesting for foreign learners.
    now I am learning English, and Japanese.
    so i know motivations decide the success of learner.
    I have many desires for my future, and i know that it starts from my language skills, but i think it is not enough clear for me to try my best.
    maybe i am lazy and giddy o^_^o
    i am very embarrassed with my parents, and the people around me because they believe i am excellent with my english skills.
    i know that with excellent english, i’ll reach many things in the life,
    i’ll make friend with more ppl, travel more ,earn more money, ect.
    many things and many things I can do with excellent English, but I am still lazy now.
    OMG (:((
    and With Japanese, you know, I love Japan, I promised myself that someday, I will come to Japanese. it is my goal o^^o
    indeed, japanese is very difficult( many ppl said that japanese is one of the hardest language) and it is very shame if i said i love Japan, but i don’t know at all about Japan, are u agree?
    so thanks for your share,
    best,
    quynh from vietnam.

    Reply

  4. Jesse
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 08:47:54

    Yumi-san,

    Congratulations on learning your English so well thus far; there may be some mistakes, but I can clearly see your meaning in every sentence. I was born and raised in the United States, so I have spoken English most of my life. But, did you know that very many Americans only speak English at a beginner level? Most of our people learn and understand what other people are saying, but when looking at a written sentence, they cannot tell which words serve what purpose (they cannot tell verbs, adverbs, nouns, prepositions, conjunctions, etc).

    Your comprehension improves based on your motivation. If you are learning a language because you are passionate about it, or because you love the culture, then you will learn quickly and remember more easily. But, if you are learning because you are forced to, or have no choice, or only for business, then you will not learn as quickly. You always learn faster when studying something you love!

    If you study English because it is important to you, for whatever reason, then you will learn quickly. If you learn English only because you have to, then you may not progress as quickly. This is the reason so many Americans do not study advanced English. They only learn what they need to learn, and then stop. Only a few of us study the language because we truly find it fascinating.

    If you are motivated and put hard work into it, you will find that you learn English better than many English speaking countries. It is not uncommon for foreigners who visit us to speak more proper English than our own citizens. Their speed may be lower, but sentences are usually formed more correctly.

    Keep up the good work, and good luck.

    – Jesse

    Reply

    • yumi
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 09:57:47

      Hi, Jesse.

      Nice to meet you and thanks for visiting my blog.
      I’m sorry for the delay because I studied abroad in America for a while. I enjoyed reading your comment! I totally agree with you and I’ve believed that hard work pay off in the end. So, I will try to study harder! Thank you for the good advice!

      -Yumi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

