Do You Have a Dream?

Today I read an interesting article in Japanese. According to the article, the average age for Japanese people to give up their dreams is 24 years old. The reason is they realize that they don’t have enough talents to make their dreams come true.

What do you think about it? Do you still have your dreams and want to make your dreams come true?

I think for Japanese people 24 years old is the age that we realize our reality and we learn that we are not children anymore. We started giving a serious thought to our future and we understand that we can’t survive with our dreams. I think it’s sad but it’s good for us to organize what we need in our future.

In my case I gave up my dream when I was 18 years old. However, I couldn’t forget my dream and after marriage, I started preparing being an armature painter. Now, my dream is getting bigger and bigger, and I’ve been trying to become a professional artist.

Although the article’s perspective was negative, if people have ambitions, I think they hardly can forget it. And they definitely go back to their dreams. I think only humans can have the ambitions and try to make them come true. So, it’s really waste for us to threw away our dreams. It’s so much fun to enjoy the process to make our dreams come true. Don’t you think so?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ingrid Lee
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 10:51:30

    Very interesting post Yumi. It is sad to think that people give up their dreams. Of course there is a difference between a dream, and having the means or resources or competence to actually achieve them. Therein lies another problem.

    There are always times during our lives where what we want to achieve is put on hold for a little while due to resources, or life choices and responsibilities…in the past, for many women it was not socially acceptable for them to do anything for themselves until their children had left home.

    For me personally, I had set goals when I was a teenager, to be a professional artist, to teach, to lecture at a university and be an academic and to travel. I achieved the first three goals by the age of 23….but it was only in the last two years that I have traveled, after I got married and had my children; and continue to follow my journey as a professional artist. For me at 37 this time was right for travelling and being an artist- I have real purpose for this now, other than just to sight see. I think that the obstacles or things which pause our dreams or goals enable us the time to really assess that journey and ourselves through it. When you can make that connection, and value then your passion will drive you to fulfill it. Of course there are some people who are happy sitting at home watching tv- maybe that is their dream.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 16, 2013 @ 11:07:37

      Hi, Ingrid.

      Thanks for the comment. I really think you are a lucky person because you can meet your dreams when you are in such the young age and set up how to make your dreams come true. You know, many people can’t do that because we can’t trust ourselves when we are in such the young age. I wasn’t confident in my talents when I was young and followed my parents’ advice. I still regret it.

      However, we can start our life again anytime. We can start having our dreams again anytime we want. I learned the things through my experiences.

      Reply

  2. quynhchu
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 10:57:58

    Yumi, thanks for great writing,
    long time no see you write blog ^ _^
    I’ve had the many the dreams from the children. I dreamed becoming rich like bill gates, I dreamed traveling all around the world, I dreamed having the true love, so on.
    but now I dont know what is my true dream, my true ambitions? sometimes, I don’t know the things I actually want….

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 16, 2013 @ 11:10:35

      Hi, Quynh

      Thanks for the comment. Your dreams sound wonderful! Of course, you can do anything! I know setting our goals when we are young is very difficult. Concern about it, and you can find your answer. That’s your dream!

      Reply

  3. Helga Jaermann
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 13:21:01

    Yumi dreams are importen for our live, I was dreaming all my live and I still dream, some of my dreams come true, some not. So is the live. Every day when I go to bed I am dreaming from something, love Helga

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 16, 2013 @ 13:44:33

      Hi, Helga.

      Thank you for the comment. I totally agree with you. There are no dreams, there are no lives! I think having dreams make people keep younger and more health because people can find the meaning of their lives.

      That’s good for you to keep dreaming!

      Reply

  4. Matilda Jane Holmes
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 23:24:41

    Oh dreaming never stops it just gets better because with age we become more realistic about our dreams. I agree with your remark Yumi, that dreams keep you young. At 75 I think i am having my second childhood doing the things i love to do-like drawing and painting. 🙂

    Reply

  5. djloopacabra
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 09:45:11

    My dreams have changed so much. I think when I was a kid my first dream was to be a ninja, but then I found out that don’t have ninjas anymore. So then I my dream was to become extremely rich, so I started a T-shirt business, but that was so much work and I lost more money than I made.

    Then I went on a trip to Hawaii, and I created a new dream. I wanted to live in Hawaii because I felt so happy being there. So I told myself, “no matter if I’m rich or poor, I’m going to live in Hawaii someday.

    So after going there I decided to learn Japanese, so that maybe one day I could work as an interpreter, or English teacher in Hawaii. So that was about 10 years ago I went there, so I guess that is still my dream. However, if I never make it back there, I want to make wherever I am like Hawaii. I basically just want to live a happy life wherever I am.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 17, 2013 @ 13:31:47

      Hi, Matt.

      Thanks for the comment. I think that is the exact meaning of dreams. I think dreams have to make us happy and that’s is the dreams.

      So, I understand what you are talking. No matter which kinds of dreams we have, if the dreams make us happy, that is the dreams for us.

      Reply

  6. Helga Jaermann
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 09:57:55

    That is imported live a happy life wherever you are and watt ever you to at long you healthy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

