How to Stay Cool Without Air Conditioner

Hello, there! How are you doing? I hope everybody is having a good day.

In Japan, the rainy reason was over, and the really muggy summer has come! I personally don’t like using air conditioner because the cold air makes me feel very sluggish.  I prefer sweating. I always try not to use air conditioner until I really can’t bear. I especially don’t use it day time.  However, my hubby can’t stand without air conditioner. So, when I am with him, I have no choice.

We have some ideas to spend summer time without air conditioner, and today I want to show them with you.

Sudare

すだれ

We put a screen, called ‘Sudare’ made of thin strips of wood in front of a house or back side of a house to shut down sunshine. We have put this screen in front of our bathroom window. We can open the window to get cool wind, and nobody can peek us. Some shops put this the entrance of their shops like the picture.

Uchiwa

うちわ

This is our very traditional tool ( a fan) , called uchiwa. We can buy lots of pretty ones. We have both modern designs and traditional ones. I prefer traditional ones. This is very popular for summer festivals with a summer kimono, Yukata.

Uchimizu

打ち水

This is my favorite for summer. We water in front of our house to stay cool. My grandparents did it in summer every single day when the temperature got high, especially evening. So, when I see someone is doing this, this reminds me of my grandparents a lot. When I lived in Nagano prefecture with my family, I saw people did it a lot.

Furin

風鈴

We do make us cool down with pretty sounds. The glass things are called Furin. They make very pretty healing sounds, and I love them. We have one in our house, and I have hanged it every year in summer. When I hear the sounds, they definitely reminds me of summer.

I think each country has their own unique ideas or culture for seasons. These ideas make us enjoy the hot and humid summer.

Thanks as always for reading my blog post. I hope you can expand a little bit your horizons about Japan!

See you in two weeks again!

-Yumi x

 

 

 

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Jul 23, 2017 @ 14:02:53

    Enjoyed reading about your culture regarding summer.

    Reply

  2. Sherron Pampalone
    Jul 23, 2017 @ 14:10:35

    Thank you for a very informative column!

    Reply

  3. emilie
    Jul 23, 2017 @ 16:00:39

    Thanks for sharing this part of your culture with us. It’s very interesting to hear what other cultures do to stay cool.

    Reply

  4. Jane Holmes
    Jul 23, 2017 @ 23:29:05

    Very interesting Yumi. When I first came to Australia my Aunt used to hose the walls of her house to cool it in summer. But in summer we sometimes have water restrictions so this is not suggested these days.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 24, 2017 @ 01:03:46

      Hi, Jane!

      Thank you for coming to my blog!! Same here. Usually we get tons of water in the rainy season. However, if we can’t get enough, we sometimes have water restrictions too. This year my area where we live didn’t get enough water. I am wondering…….

      Reply

  5. Gay
    Jul 24, 2017 @ 11:42:30

    Oh Yumi you know I am an air conditioning kind of girl. Never have been able to take the heat. I remember as a child begging my parents to let me sleep on the floor of their bedroom because their room had air. So glad there is central air now! Lol

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 24, 2017 @ 12:52:27

      Hi, Gay!

      Thank you for the comment. Yes, I know that. I have to say it’s really hard for you to survive in Japan. We don’t have the central air or heat in our houses. In Japan summer ls really hot and humid, and we have to walk. I hate going out in summer.

      Reply

  6. Helga Jaermann
    Jul 27, 2017 @ 11:51:11

    In Switzerland most privates houses have no air conditions, we have windows shutters.
    When the weather is hot, we close in the shutters during the day and open them in the evening, when it is cooler.
    In Thailand we have A/C’s in all rooms.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 30, 2017 @ 01:16:40

      Hello, Helga!

      Thank you as always for the comment! I can guess Switzerland doesn’t need any air conditioners at all. My family and I lived in Nagano prefecture where is a part of north in Japan, We also didn’t have them then.

      The shutters sound very interesting! I guess they look similar as our screens! Thank you for sharing!!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

