Desserts for Summer in Japan

Hello there!

How are you spending your weekend? The day before yesterday was the Tanabata in Japan even though my family and I didn’t celebrate it. It was first time for the Tanabata festival not to be a rainy day for years. So, I guess the mystical couple in the sky enjoyed having their romantic time together. You ca learn about mystical couple: http://www.japan-suite.com/blog/2014/7/6/tanabata-story-of-two-star-crossed-loversf

Today I want to introduce our summer desserts to you. In summer you can see these in supermarkets a lot. We love eating cold stuff in summer. Ice cream gets more popular in summer too, but we still love our old-fashioned sweets like these. We keep these desserts in our refrigerator to keep them cool. When we eat them, we can enjoy the cool temperature and the sweet flavor together. Most of them are like jellies, but these sweets are made from vegetable gelatin. This part is different from jellies. ( Jellies are made from animal gelatin.)

My favorite sweet in summer is Warabimochi. I really love Kuromitsu ( the black syrup made from brown sugar) and that’s the reason. It’s so tasty to eat the cold Warabimochi with Kuromitsu.

わらびもち

 

My other favorite is Mizsuyoukan.

みずようかん

My previous place where we lived had a popular Mizuyoukan factory three doors down from our house. We loved buying the Mizuyoukan there. I really miss it. Mizsuyoukan is made from some red beans.

We have more sweets for summer.

Anmistu

あんみつ

I don’t like this one, but some people like my hubby loves this, called Kuzsukiri. That’s because it tastes sour. I prefer sweet flavor.

ところてん

So, which one do you want to taste first? I hope this summer won’t be extremely muggy, and I can enjoy the season.

Have a lovely weekend! See you around next weekend here again!

-Yumi

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bestregardsfromfar
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 12:54:30

    Sweet post!! Would love to taste the first one. Missing the delicate Japanese food so much! Really need to go back. Thanks for your post 🙂

    Reply

  2. Gay
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 14:25:36

    Looks interesting. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. marci blattenberger
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 17:15:41

    Hi Yumi , Thank you for sharing these. I wish I could taste them . They look beautiful too . Marci

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 10, 2017 @ 14:20:08

      Hi, Marci!

      Thank you so very much for visiting my blog! When you come to Japan, I will take some good shops where you can eat these!

      Reply

  4. Helga Jaermann
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 22:19:51

    Looks very good, maybe I eat already some of them, in Switzerland we have different Dessert, many coms from Italy

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 10, 2017 @ 14:21:21

      Hi, Helga!

      Thank you as always for the comment!! I am sure you have had some of them already! I am very curious about your desserts. I love Italian desserts and you are lucky!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

