Her

Hi there! How have you been?

Have you watched the movie, Her? It’s a Hollywood movie to describe a futuristic relationship. In the movie we date computers.

Well, I think we will have it soon…….. Today I want to introduce our high technology.

A friend of mine from America shared this video clip with me, and this associated me with the movie, Her.

In Japan we have a serious problem for young people who are not interested in having relationships. They love internet game, anime, manga, computer game and so on. They might have internet virtual relationships through game, but they are not interested in real relationships. Don’t you think it’s weird?

I have no idea why people like virtual relationships. Are they afraid of being dumped or getting hurt? Yes, I think so. I think these people are chicken out.

I think we can’t get perfect relationships when we start relationships. Friendships or relationships need time to grow. However, these people love anime, manga, internet game tend to seek perfect relationships from the beginning. That’s because they are used to seeing fantasy through anime, manga or whatever. In their fantasy all characters have perfect boyfriends or girlfriends.  I am afraid that this virtual home robot increases the number of young people who are not interested in real relationships more.

This is a one way relationship and they never receive anything from their virtual girlfriends/boyfriends. I guess when people get used to this, they will lose emotions, social skills, patience for  having a long turn relationship with real people, making babies and so on. I can’t imagine any positive things about this.

What do you think about this? Do you think this is good?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WC
    Jan 25, 2017 @ 16:33:38

    In the US, there was a stigma against things like video games and comics for a long time. It became a common joke that people who liked those things would be single forever.

    This was further emphasized by many women not having any interest in those things and looking down on men who like them. Many people decided they like those things more than they wanted a relationship with someone who didn’t like them, and they gave up.

    I got married at 37 years old. I wasn’t willing to have a relationship that meant giving up other things that I loved.

    I still see a lot of stigma against manga and video games in Japan, so I’m not surprised that young people don’t bother trying to have relationships.

    However, I don’t think any of that has anything to do with this device. This device is a toy for people who are lonely, not a real replacement for a relationship. It’s also extremely expensive, which means it’s only for rich lonely people.

    As time goes on, people will drop the stigma against things that young people like today (as they get older, usually) and things will get better. That’s what happened here in the US. It’s now pretty common to find 30 and 40-year olds who like video games and comics, and much more rare for people to have irrational bias against them. Those people still exist, but they’re becoming a minority, which makes them easier to avoid.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 26, 2017 @ 13:22:24

      Hi, William-san.

      Thank you as always for stopping by my blog! Thank you so much for sharing your opinion. I think this device is good for lonely elderly people or people who have mental illness that is hard to communicate with people. Your opinion made me think this should be good for us to use a medical way.

      I think our technology is improving day by day, and now this is expensive. When we got a PC or cellphone, they were extremely expensive. Nobody expected we would get them so cheap then. Now, everybody has a PC and a cellphone. I am sure, this device will get so cheaper and it will be possible for everybody to buy it in near future. At the time, we will see what causes us.

      Reply

  2. emilie
    Jan 25, 2017 @ 18:04:05

    Yep, Yumi, this seems to be a problem all over the world where there is internet/capability to play the computer games, etc. Guess it all depends on the person involved and the circumstances. For the most part it seems that too many younger people are way too dependent on their computers but there are still those young people that do interact with each other. Just have to hunt further to find them. :o)

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 26, 2017 @ 13:28:32

      Hi, Emilie

      Thank you so much for your opinion. I agree that so many people are addicted to the internet. When I stop by restaurants or cafe, I can see lots of couples or families are sitting together and texting on their cellphone. No of them talk to their partners or family members. It’s so sad because they are sharing time to sit and eat together, but they don’t enjoy the moment. I am afraid what will go on in our technological society………

      Reply

  3. Helga Jaermann
    Jan 26, 2017 @ 02:09:32

    Yes I believ this is a problem, it chance so much everywhere

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 26, 2017 @ 13:34:01

      Hi, Helga.

      Thank you so much for the opinion. I agree that we have changed a lot and will change a lot in the future. I sometimes feel that I can’t catch up with recent technology, lol. I really hope we will change a better way if we can’t avoid changing.

      Reply

  4. Matthew Curry
    Jan 26, 2017 @ 06:13:20

    There isn’t a problem on the individual level, as I’m sure it’s more mentally healthy than not talking to anyone. However, the problem is with the future population of the human beings. We have so many amazing technologies that keeps us more connected with each other, but yet we are growing more and more isolated from one another. I think we need more technologies that will get us back together. I think that Pokemon Go was a good example of something that got people outside moving and talking to each other. Parents have to find more ways to get their children outside and talking and meeting new people.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 26, 2017 @ 13:37:24

      Hi, Matt

      Thank you for sharing your opinion. I agree that we need something like Pokemon Go. I think we need to communicate more face to face, not like this device. This might be good when we use it in a medical way, but I don’t think this will support our healthy relationships. I want to have healthy relationships, and not this one.

      Anyway, thank you so much for sharing the video clip with me!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

