Ramen

Hello there! How have you been?

Today I want to write about Ramen because I have heard Ramen is getting popular in the world. Have you had Ramen before? Ramen is noodle with soup, and it’s very popular in Japan. We have lots of Ramen shops everywhere.

My hubby and I went to a Ramen shop close to our house last week.

dscf8065

The shop is new and he wanted to go there to try the ramen there. We ordered different flavored ramen to taste. I preferred mine, and he preferred his. His ramen was too rich for me. I prefer plan flavor to rich one in ramen.

dscf8066

I ordered this one. The flavor is based on salt with fish soup.

DSCF8067.JPG

Usually, Japanese ramen restaurants’ menu has pictures. I don’t like menus in America or Mexico because they don’t have pictures like ours! I can read English, but if I have no idea about the food names, how can I order?! In Mexico, since I can’t read Spanish, I always had some troubles to choose foods. I always had to ask my friends.

dscf8069

My hubby’s order

dscf8071

My order

 

dscf8070

we shared the fried chicken and gyoza.

dscf8072

I am very curious. What does your country’s ramen look like? Does it look like ours?

I will be off for a couple of weeks in this blog and my other blog. I will study abroad in Italy for two weeks and can’t update my blogs. After I return to Japan, I will update my art blog about my adventures in Italy!

 

See you at the end of this year, every one!

 

-Yumi

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Dec 10, 2016 @ 21:46:05

    The food all looks yummy. I always added extra vegetables to our ramen which comes packaged.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 05, 2017 @ 13:19:38

      Hi, Dixie!

      Thank you as always for the comment! I think it’s good for you to eat ramen with lots of veggies! It sounds very healthy!

      Reply

  2. Gay
    Dec 11, 2016 @ 04:19:21

    Ramen soup comes in a bag. we just pour the contents of the bag into boiling water. It is very inexpensive and a favorite of college students. I am sure yours is better.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 05, 2017 @ 13:20:46

      Hi, Gay

      Thank you for the comment. I know what you are talking about. We also have such the cheep ones, but ramen in a ramen shop is much much better!!

      Reply

  3. Helga Jaermann
    Dec 11, 2016 @ 11:45:29

    Ramen looks very good to me, I cane not remember or I it this already, I like Japanese food very much

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 05, 2017 @ 13:23:13

      Hi, Helga.

      I am sure you have eaten Ramen somewhere. I am not sure if it’s popular in Thailand, though. That’s because Thailand is hot and I don’t like eating ramen in summer.

      Reply

  4. WC
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 14:25:05

    We only have ramen in Japanese restaurants and Cup Noodle, basically, so it looks pretty much the same. 🙂

    I actually prefer the words on the menus. The pictures are too small and I don’t know what foreign food is from how it looks. I might be able to figure it out from the name, though, even in other languages. 🙂 I really hated menus in Japan that only had pictures, and we usually just went somewhere else to eat instead! This was in part because my wife can’t eat pork, and we couldn’t be sure it didn’t have pork without asking.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 05, 2017 @ 13:28:08

      Hi, William-san.

      Thank you for visiting my blog! I know your point very well. I think pictures on a menu is a Japanese thing. I was in Italy and Italian menus didn’t have pictures at all like American’s. I am so used to the Japanese menus.

      When Zach came here, we often went out to eat. We met some Chinese people who got confused Japanese menu at a restaurant. For them, they didn’t understand which one was coffee and which one was cola because both pictures on the menu looked exact same for them. They didn’t read Japanese language either.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

