Sushi

Hello there! It’s getting colder here. How have you been?

Today I want to write about sushi. Do you know that we have so many different kinds of sushi?

Nigiri is the most popular and famous in the world.

%e3%81%ab%e3%81%8e%e3%82%8a

Besides Nigiri, we have so many different kinds of sushi. I don’t think I can mention everything, but I want to mention some which I am familiar with.

A couple of days ago, I made Chirashi. This is home-made sushi.

dscf8027

I mixed dried veggies, mushrooms, tiny fish called jyako, eggs, raw sermon, cucumbers, fish paste called kamaboko, renkon (Japanese vegetable) and so on. Since it’s easy for fixing, I make this often.

I was born and grew up close to Kyoto. In Kyoto we have hako-zushi.

%e3%81%af%e3%81%93%e3%81%9a%e3%81%97

My favorite one is the brown ones. They are grilled eels.

I lived in Wakayama prefecture with my hubby 20 years ago. Kakinoha-shushi is really popular there. It looks like hako-zushi, but the difference is after we make the sushi, we wrap it with a fruit (persimmon) leaf.  I love kakinoha-shushi too!

%e3%81%8b%e3%81%8d%e3%81%ae%e3%81%af%e3%81%9a%e3%81%97

Next is my mom’s favorite! I didn’t like the sushi for a long time, but recently I came to like it. Saba-sushi is made from a vinegar flavored  mackerel.

%e3%81%95%e3%81%b0%e3%81%9a%e3%81%97

The last one is called Masu-zushi. This is a bigger version of kakinoha-sushi, but after we make the sushi, we wrap it with bamboo leaves. The sushi is local food of Toyama. Since my father in-law’s hometown is Toyama prefecture, we often get the sushi from him. The red fish is a trout.

%e3%81%be%e3%81%99%e3%81%9a%e3%81%97

Which one looks yummy for you? Which one do you want to try out?

All have different flavors and all are good!

I hope this blog entry helps to learn about sushi more.

Have a lovely day! See you around next weekend here again!

-Yumi

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. takafromtokyo
    Nov 13, 2016 @ 15:30:24

    Hi, Yumi. Good post. I love the beauty of your pictures; they make sushi look even more delicious. The one that caught my attention most was hako-zushi. They are so pretty. I’ve never tried them before, and they are the ones that I’d definitely want to try when I get a chance.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Nov 16, 2016 @ 07:36:25

      Hi, Daka-san!

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving the comment! I do appreciate you a lot! Hako-zushi is really good. When you come over Kyoto, you should try it out!

      Reply

  2. Dixie
    Nov 13, 2016 @ 17:59:56

    I don’t know which sushi you made here but it was wonderful!!! I do not like the sushi we see here in the grocery stores but what you made was totally different.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Nov 16, 2016 @ 00:59:33

      Hi, Dixie!

      Thank you so much for the comment. I made chirashi at yours’s. Next year when I stop by yours, I will make that one again!

      Reply

  3. Helga Jaermann
    Nov 13, 2016 @ 20:00:04

    I love Sushi very much! We have in Bangkok very good Japanese Resterant, very soon I will eat there again sushi

    Reply

    • yumi
      Nov 16, 2016 @ 00:58:15

      Hi, Helga!

      Thank you as always for visiting my blog! Which one do you like the best? I am looking forward to hearing from you about sushi!

      Reply

  4. Ron
    Nov 14, 2016 @ 02:31:34

    Hi Yumi 🙂

    Looks so good. Thank You for sharing so many details and pictures.

    Smiles from Canada :))

    Reply

  5. Gay
    Nov 17, 2016 @ 03:59:44

    Well it is very colorful. Um, do you guys have peanut butter and bread in Japan?

    Reply

    • yumi
      Nov 19, 2016 @ 10:55:52

      Hi, Gay!

      Thanks for visiting my blog again! You should try sushi out with me next time! This year I brought some ingredients for sushi, but we didn’t cook it. Yuki got it, right? Next year I will bring the stuff again and cook it for you. I am sure you will like it. The home-made sushi is not fishy. I don’t use fish for the sushi for you.

      Well, we have both peanut butter and bread, but you know I don’t like both right?

      Reply

  6. Linda Zollinger
    Nov 23, 2016 @ 11:25:30

    I love all of your posts and photography. I think I am like Dixie and would like the Chirashi. I am very interested to see how you came out in the earthquake. I have prayed for your safety. Love and Hugs from Tennessee!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 03, 2016 @ 13:46:02

      Hi, Linda!

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I am glad that you enjoyed this blog entry! I hope you are getting better now. I am praying for you!

      Reply

  7. cookingwithteamj
    May 24, 2017 @ 02:16:15

    We love saba sushi! We used to have that all the time in Japan 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

