Halloween in Japan

Hi there! How have you been?

I can’t believe that we have only two months left this year!! I am so surprised that time flies so fast!

Last week, I know we celebrated Halloween in the Western world. Well, me personally, I have never gone trick or treating or celebrated it in my entire life. When I was a kid, Halloween was not popular at all. However, it is getting more popular recently, and I want to share how we celebrate it.

I have a 10 year-old niece, and she shared a very interesting story with me. She told me that she does trick or treat in her neighborhood. Her neighborhoods has a Halloween event every year in October. She can stop by to trick or treat at elderly people’s houses which have a maple leaf mark on their house doors. The house owners (they are elderly people) give some candies when kids come around. It’s an event both for elderly people and kids to communicate with each other. When I heard the story, I thought it’s a great idea because usually elderly people don’t get so many chances to talk to kids besides their grandchildren. Of course, my niece told me that they wear a Halloween costume.

After hearing the story, I paid a little bit more attention. On the Halloween day, I found a cute pumpkin pie which was wrapped by a cute Halloween package at a grocery store .

dscf8030

dscf8034

Halloween is apparently getting much more popular in one decade.

My daughter loves going to Universal Studios in Osaka during the Halloween season. She loves wearing creepy make-up and goes there with her friends.  Older people are still not interested in Halloween, but young people are enjoying it.

I think in a couple of years, Halloween will become a much bigger event in Japan and we might be able to see many people from young to old wearing a costume everywhere, lol.

I hope you had a fun time on this Halloween!

See you next weekend here again!

-Yumi

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gay
    Nov 07, 2016 @ 01:55:32

    Very interesting Yumi. It was cold here on Halloween but I sat on the front porch and handed out pretzels. My son was surprised kids didn’t throw eggs at our house (that is the trick part) because I didn’t give out candy. I just can’t have candy here because I would eat it! We have over 100 children here. I enjoyed them all. Your pumpkin pie is funny. Was it a pumpkin filling or fruit? Our pumpkin pies usually don’t have a top crust.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Nov 10, 2016 @ 17:05:02

      Hi, Gay.

      Thank you for the comment. I can’t believe that if kids can’t get candies, they throw eggs to your house?! It never happen here. Kids just appreciate what they get. My niece told me that she has gotton sushi, lol. She didn’t complained about it. I haven’t see over 100 kids for a long time, lol. We definitely are lack of kids here.

      The filling of the pie is pumpkin. It was yummy, and we all enjoyed eating it.

      It’s getting colder here as well.

      Reply

  2. WC
    Nov 07, 2016 @ 17:38:31

    Halloween at Tokyo Disney was amazing! So many people were dressed up! 🙂

    Reply

    • yumi
      Nov 10, 2016 @ 17:06:58

      Hi, William-san.

      Thanks for visiting my blog again! Yeah, Disney land or Universal studios are always fun to see people on Halloween. I have never been to Disney Land on Halloween, but I have been there on Christmas. It was fun, but it was really cold. I got sick here, lol. It was a good memories, though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

