How Do We Think About Mix People in Japan

Hello, there! It’s been a while since I posted my last blog entry. I am sorry for the delay. I was busy painting to get in an art show. Since I was done, I want to start blogging again.

Today I want to write about my opinion about mix people.  Recently a friend of mine from America told me that he read a very interesting article about what Japanese people think about mix people. He wanted to make sure if I have the same opinion as the article. According to him, Japanese people don’t think mix people are Japanese. Before talking to him, I have never thought about them before. Our conversation made me think about mix people.

Well, in Japan we tend to think mix people are not Japanese. I have to agree with the article. When I said so, he asked me why. I tried to find a certain reason, but I can’t give a good reason to him. I think we have kind of discriminate feelings against mix people. We think we have three different groups; pure Japanese people group, mix people group and foreign people group. So, when we see mix people, we think they belong to a different group. I think Japan is an island, and most of us are pure Japanese. We are not used to seeing so many mix people. I have no mix friends. That’s why we don’t know about them well. I think these factors make us think mix people are different from us.

In Japan even though foreign people have Japanese passports and they are officially Japanese, we tend to think they are still foreigners too. We call mix people ”ハーフ” ( half) and foreign people who are technically Japanese call “外人”(gaijin=foreigner). I guess they are not happy for this.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helga Jaermann
    Sep 26, 2016 @ 16:37:48

    Robert and I we are a mix couple. If you are a mix couple your husband and booth Families must be tolerant, love and understanding

    Reply

  2. Helga Jaermann
    Sep 26, 2016 @ 16:43:50

    We call Swiss people EIDGENOSSEN otherwise Paper Swiss, it is not easy to become a real Swiss

    Reply

  3. blossomkitty
    Oct 01, 2016 @ 00:48:33

    I think the reason is the sakoku (1633-1866). Because their was no inter-racial mixing for such a long time, Japanese are not used to seeing foreigners.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Oct 08, 2016 @ 17:13:25

      Hi, Blossomkitty

      Nice to meet you. Thanks for visiting my blog! What you said is true. We don’t used to seeing foreigners.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

