Cats

Today I am going to write about cats. I really think Japanese culture connects with cats deeply.

For example, 招き猫, maneki-neko.

招き猫

I think everybody knows this cat statue. This is for business and people believe that when we put this in our shops, we can get more customers because the cat calls them to our shops.

Cat-Cafe

This is our pop culture. Some coffee shops have cats as pets. When we go to the cat-cafe, we can pet the cats whenever we want. It’s very weird. People love going to the cats cafe to make themselves relaxed or healed. My daughter loves going there even though we have a cat, Jiji as an indoor cat at home. I have no idea why people pay money to pet cats.

猫カフェ

Cat islands

We have several islands where cats’ number is larger than people’s population. For example, we have a small island, named Aoshima. In the Island we have only 15 people, but we have more than over one hundred cats there. Japanese people love cats and to see them, people visit the island. Now, the island is trendy for people who love cats.They visit the island to take photos of cats.

http://nekonoshima.miau2.net/aoshima/

Expressions relates to cats

We have so many expressions relates to cats. 猫舌、猫に小判、猫をかぶる、猫なで声、猫の手も借りたい、猫の額ほどの庭 and so on. I don’t translate them into English. If you are curious about the Japanese expressions, I recommend to go to Google Trantlator them.

I want to write about cats more on my next blog entry.

I hope you are having a relaxing weekend!

See you here again next weekend!

-Yumi

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matt
    Aug 14, 2016 @ 18:20:41

    Cool! I’m very curious about the history of the Japanese fasination of cats.

    Reply

  2. Gay
    Aug 14, 2016 @ 20:40:21

    A Cat Cafe has opened in the Detroit area too. Seems to be a big hit. I believe all of the cats are up for adoption too.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Sep 24, 2016 @ 17:27:34

      Hi, Gay!

      I didn’t know that you have a cat caffee in Detroit! I want to see it when I go back to there next year!!! Can we get there?

      Reply

  3. Helga Jaermann
    Aug 16, 2016 @ 11:05:09

    Very interesting, I love cat’s I have a Japanese cat in my house in Switzerland

    Reply

Leave a Reply

