Hiroshima

Hi there! How have you been? I am sorry I couldn’t update my blog for two weeks.

This weekend, on Saturday we had a 71st memorial day for Hiroshima and I want to write about Hiroshima today.

I think everybody knows the word, Hiroshima. It’s one of Japanese cities name. 71 years ago during  the world war 2, the city was attacked by an atomic bomb on the 6th of August. Three days later Nagasaki was attacked by another atomic bomb.  In total over 200,000 people died. Japan surrendered after that.It was a huge lesson for us after the war. Not only that, in 71 years the people who could survive have still are suffered from the effect of radiation. The atomic bombs gave us a huge influence to the next generation or next next generation.

As to think about Hiroshima, I can’t stop thinking why we couldn’t surrender before that . If we did it, we didn’t lose such amount of innocent people immediately. Our government during the time took “Samurai Spirits”  rather than protecting citizens. At school we learn about Hiroshima, but our history teachers don’t say any sensitive questions to students, like why America choose our country not German or Italy ( we belonged to a same group against America) , why America dropped two of atomic bombs, Do you think we needed two of atomic bombs to surrender? Why they dropped the bombs in Hiroshima and Nagasaki and so on. I sometimes discuss these questions with my American friend, but we can’t find answers. My friend tell his opinion from an American side and visa versa. We both have been educated different and we never agree even though we can respect our opinions.

This year American president Obama visited Hiroshima as a first American president and gave us an amazing speech about peace. Through Hiroshima, Nagasaki and ww2 we have learned about peace at school. In Japan Hiroshima has been a symbol of peace.

We can’t change our history but we can learn from it. I think the most important thing is not to repeat the same history. Let’s pray for peace, no more wars, nor more terrorism.

Thank you so much for reading. See you next weekend here again. Have a lovely week!

-Yumi

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helga Jaermann
    Aug 07, 2016 @ 22:55:38

    Never never atomic bomb, love and peace for the wold

    Reply

  2. William Crawford
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 12:54:34

    Thanks for writing this Yumi! I can’t imagine how hard it is for you and your people to think about.

    I’ve also wondered why we dropped 2 bombs and not just 1. I think it’s probably that we hoped 1 would be enough, but when Japan didn’t surrender, we had to continue.

    As for why Japan? I think that was because of Pearl Harbor directly. It was Japanese planes attacking there, and not anyone else, so far as I know. Pearl Harbor made the war personal for us.

    This isn’t something we like to think about, either. I think it’s very hard for many of us.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Sep 24, 2016 @ 17:32:42

      Hi, William-san!

      Long time no talk and thanks for visiting my blog! Thanks for writing down your opinion. I enjoyed reading it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

