Fireflies

Hello there! How have you you been?

Today I want to share a part of our culture. In Japan the weather is early summer. I want to ask you what kind of things belong to summer in our country? I think it relates to our culture.

In Japan, fireworks and fireflies associate us with summer. A couple weeks ago, my family and I went to a park where we can see fireflies. I brought my camera to video tape them, but unfortunately, we were not allowed to take pictures of fireflies.

However, I could find two video clips someone has video taped them in the park. So, I want to share them with you today.

 

 

It was just amazing to see that lots of fireflies flew over. It was just like fantasy. Every time we found some fireflies, we said, “Look look look!!! Over there! There!!!! They are flying!!!”, lol. It was so much fun. I think fireflies are very romantic. Since the Heian period, we have used to enjoy viewing fireflies. We had a great time to see them in beautiful nature.

Have a lovely week! See you next weekend here again!

 

-Yumi

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gay
    Jul 17, 2016 @ 19:09:33

    Hi Yumi we have lots of fireflies too. Just the other night Bas and I were enjoying watching them flying in our back yard.

    Reply

  2. Helga Jaermann
    Jul 17, 2016 @ 19:34:23

    Very interesting, Robert work a lot in our garden we love our garden special in the summertime. Swiss people walking in the mountain and go swimming, next week we visiting our relativ in Engelberg, Robert and his brother will walking up to the Montain. Love Helga

    Reply

Leave a Reply

