Japanese Castles

Hi there. How are you doing today? I have been sick for a while, and that’s why my blog entry was delay. I am sorry for that. I am getting better now, and you don’t need to worry about it.

Well, today I want to write about Japanese castles. As you know, our castles are quite different from Western ones.

During the world war 2, we lost lots of castles. Even so, we still have some original ones. I’ve been moving around many places because of my husband’s job in Japan. Through my experiences, I want to show some of my favorite castles here. I hope you enjoy it.

Osaka Castle:Osaka city, Osaka prefecture

I took my British friend, Maryn and my American friend, Zach to Osaka castle. We lost the original version during the ww2. However, it’s still beautiful and it’s a symbol of Osaka city where I live.

Osaka Castle

Osaka Castle

 

Osaka Castle

Osaka Castle

 

Osaka Castle

Osaka Castle

Click it. You can go to YouTube and see a video clip of Osaka castle
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=khuPeplJLyo

Matsumoto Caslte: Matsumoto city, Nagano prefecture

My family and I lived there 7 years ago before my husband got a promotion. Our first dog, lala was alive at that time, and walking around the castle was Lala and my working out. We still keep the original version of castle. I really love the castle because it’s so pretty in snow.

Matsumoto Castle

Matsumoto Castle

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jcW7LbtJ3LM

Wakayama Castle: Wakayama city, Wakayama prefecture

My family and I lived there almost 20 years ago. Our daughter was born in the city. The castle is one of the biggest castles in Japan. I still remember I really loved walking though in cherry blossoms seasons. The castle has tons of cherry trees and when they blooms, it’s so pretty. The castle isn’t original. We lost it during the ww2.

Wakayama castle

Wakayama castle

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7o1eMbZRhQ

Hikone Castle: Hilone city, Shiga prefecture

This castle belongs to my home town, Shiga prefecture close to my husband’s university.

Hikone castle

Hikone castle

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qILbWCOJfJ8

This blog enty’s only a part of our castles. We have lots of castles everywhere from small to large. When you are interested in them, go to google image and search them. You can see a lot of pretty Japanese castles there.

I hope this blog entry helps you understand our culture a little bit.

Thanks you as always for visiting my blog.

See you next week!

-Yumi

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helga Jaermann
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 14:33:27

    Dear Yumi I hope you feel better now. I am loving your country, I know about your beautiful castle , I have seen some of them, big hugs Helga

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jun 30, 2015 @ 22:18:03

      Hi, Helga

      Could you see my blog post this time? Oh, great! Thank you as always for visiting my blog. I really appreciate it! Talk to you soon!

      Reply

  2. Kristen Adams
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 14:49:00

    I watched a documentary recently on kami art, the traditionally printed paper in Kyoto that is still in many temples/etc. and I think in some of the castles. I love the beauty in all the details and how they are harmonious together. Are you able to go inside, or just look from the outside? I admit, I’m always interested in what the servant quarters/halls/kitchen/etc are like.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jun 30, 2015 @ 22:21:34

      Hi, Kristen

      Thank you for visiting my blog again! Yes, you can enter inside, but you have to take off you shoes, lol. All my friends from overseas don’t know it, and I have to explain about it to them, lol. It’s up to castles, but in some castles you can’t take any pics.

      Are you talking about “washi”? Yes, the Japanese papers are very pretty and stable. We have used them for doors, lamps or whatever.

      Reply

  3. Kristen Adams
    Jul 01, 2015 @ 16:45:11

    Karakami, the documentary was called “1000 years of Karakami art”. I went through a short phase where I was really interested in learning about traditional forms of printing (both cloth and paper).

    Haha! I grew up in Vancouver, so I know enough to take my shoes off. There are a number of Japanese restaurants with private shoji rooms/tatami.

    I understand about not being allowed to take pictures, since it can be harmful to the paintings/etc.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 01, 2015 @ 22:49:11

      Hi, Kristen.

      Thanks again for visiting my blog again.

      Yes, I remember that you have so many Japanese restaurants in Vancouver. One of the restaurants where Korean people are running was the best ever for me among Japanese restaurants our of Japan.

      I don’t like Japanese restaurants our of Japan, and I don’t go there. However, the restaurant where we went with you, Linda, Anne, Patrizia was excellent! Aw, I really really miss Vancouver!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

