A Strong Will

Recently I’ve been keeping on reading books in English every single day, and it makes me very happy 🙂 It took more than five years for me to put it in my routine work. I tried to do a lot of things to make it routine, but I always gave it up. To keep my goal (I’ve set a goal to read 48 books in English every year), I always had to push myself at the end of year. It was very hard, and I regretted why I didn’t keep reading constantly. Even though I learned from my mistakes, I couldn’t keep on reading ever day.

However, this year is different from usual! Somehow, I can keep on reading every day. I want to think what changed me.

Firstly, I think I’ve improved my reading skills, and it has become easier for me to find certain books for me.
Secondly, I’ve been showing my reading progress in public to use Facebook and Twitter, and it has become my motivation to keep reading.
Thirdly, I think I finally joy to read in my second language.

I have several high goals for books. Someday I want to read more advance books that I’m used to reading in Japanese.
Through this thing, I learned keep going is the most important thing for me to improve my skills. I’ve known it, but it’s easy to say and hard to do.

I really want to use this method to improve my painting skills. I’m a moody painter, and I sometimes can’t paint. I’ve still been struggling with putting it in my routine work. I want to have a STRONG will to keep on painting every single day from now on to improve my painting skills!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helga Jaermann
    Jul 12, 2014 @ 16:16:39

    My dear friend Yumi I wish you a Happy Painting and enjoy your books, many regards from Switzerland, gig hugs Helga

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 12, 2014 @ 23:18:48

      Dear my Helga

      What a sweet comment! Thank you so much!!!! I’m so happy to have you as my friend! Love you so much!!! Hugs and kisses back to you!!!!! I also hope you enjoy staying in Switzerland!!!!

      -Yumi

      Reply

  2. Jane
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 02:40:57

    I think you are amazing Yumi! I am sent a Spanish word every day but I couldn’t tell you what any of them mean if asked LOL. But you are right the more we practice something the better we become.xxx

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 14, 2014 @ 03:49:17

      Hi, Jane!

      Long time no see!!!Thanks for visiting my blog again! Thanks for the encouragement! Spanish! I also want to learn the language some day, but I’ve still been stuck on English, lol. so I don’t think I can manage it.

      I learned from my experiences practice makes perfect. So, I want to follow the method to improve myself!!!

      Reply

  3. Anya
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 10:02:26

    Hi Yumi! I just wanted to say that I am really impressed by how many books you’ve been reading in English! I think you have a strong will already. I hope one day I can read books in Japanese, but it’s difficult to imagine. Even after living in France, I still find it difficult to read in French and I only read around 10 books in French a year. Keep on with your brilliant work!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 17, 2014 @ 10:07:30

      Hi, Anya-san!

      Thanks for visiting my blog, and thanks for reading the blog entry!
      As I mentioned that once you make the thing one of your daily work, it’s easy for you to handle it! So, 頑張って!

      Meanwhile, I didn’t know that you moved to France! How cool!!!!! Where do you live in France now? I think studying French and Japanese must be really tough! I want to study Italian as my third language because I am planning on gong there next year. However, I can’t keep studying it. 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

