Puffer Fish!

A couple of weeks ago I went out to eat some puffer fish with my family in Obama city, Fukui. It was my husband’s idea because we would have to move out and enjoy some seafood here where we current live. He reserved a nice restaurant where we can stay for us. Puffer fish is my favorite, and I really enjoyed it!

Appetizers

Appetizers

Raw Tai (sea bream), called sashimi in Japanese

Raw Tai (sea bream), called sashimi in Japanese

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sparidae

Raw Peffer Fish

Raw Peffer Fish

We eat raw fish and seafood with some soy sauce and wasabi (わさび、green horseradish paste). I love the combination, and I eat stake with soy sauce and wasabi! That’s also my favorite!! Every time I go to study abroad in the U.S of America, I always bring a small bottle of say sauce and put it on anything I want. I can’t survive without any soy sauce!!!!

Fried Puffer Fish

Fried Puffer Fish

I also love fried puffer fish! It’s the best fried stuff every for me!!!!

nabe (Japanese style hot pot dish)

Nabe (Japanese style hot pot dish)

Nabe is a Japanese style of hot pot dish. We put some veggies and seafood, in this case we put some puffer fish in a pot. After they are boiled, we eat them with some ponzu sauce (ポン酢、ぽんず, ponzu). The flavor of ponzu is mix of citrus, vinegar and soy sauce. The nabe is for the Winter season and it keeps us warm.

Grilled Shirako (soft roe)

Grilled Shirako (milt)

I know for Western people, it’s disgusting! We Japanese people eat everything of seafood even some milt!!!!! I love some soup of some milt.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roe

Desert

Desert

A View from Our Hotel

A View from Our Hotel

A View from Our Hotel

A View from Our Hotel

We will move to a new town next weekend, and I’ve been walking around to take some cherry blossoms’ pictures here. I will miss our current town because the town has a lot of cherry trees. The view of Spring is the best.

My text blog entry is supposed to become cherry blossoms! Stay tunned!

-Yumi

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Troo
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 14:39:42

    Soft roe? Next you’ll be telling me that natto is lovely! 😉

    I love nabe. And that dessert looks gorgeous!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Apr 05, 2013 @ 15:16:45

      Hi, Troo!

      Thanks for visiting my blog again! Have you tried some soft roe? Believe me, it’s really good!

      I don’t like natto because I was born and grew up in the Kansai area. Natto is much more popular in the Kanto (Tokyo) area.

      Reply

      • Troo
        Apr 05, 2013 @ 15:27:49

        I’ll let you off! Haha 😀

        I can’t say that I’ve really tried soft roe. I’m not fond of hard roe, but I do love almost all seafood, so maybe I wouldn’t mind it 🙂

      • yumi
        Apr 05, 2013 @ 16:20:27

        Actually, it tastes like cheese or tofu. When my British friend visited us two years ago, my husband and I took him to a sushi bar. He ate some soup with the soft roe without knowing what he was eating. When he knew it, his reaction was so funny. I still remember it, but he said it was good. I’m sure you will love it!

      • Troo
        Apr 05, 2013 @ 18:19:01

        “It’s fine, it’s just fish semen!”

        *Phhhbbbppttt* “WHAT?”

        Hahahah.

      • yumi
        Apr 06, 2013 @ 13:31:23

        Haha, ok!

        Anyway, thanks for a lot of comments!

        -Yumi

  2. Marisol
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 18:05:11

    I love seafood. I want , i want

    Reply

Leave a Reply

