Some Local Foods in the Kyusyu Area

A couple of days ago my hubby went to Kumamoto prefecture in the Kusyu area on his business trip and bought some local foods there.  He and I had lived in Hakata, Kyusyu 23 years ago because of his job.  Since then I’ve loved one of their local foods called, Mentaiko in Japanese.

It’s made from fish eggs and some red papers and the taste is spicy. I love eating the fish eggs with some rice. I especiall love eating the fish eggs with ochazuke. It’s a very  simple Japanese meal but very good.  Here is the Ochazuke’s definition: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chazuke

Three years ago, my Floridian friend from America visited us and stayed at us for 2 months. When I served the fish eggs to him, he really didn’t like it because it smelled very fishy for him.

Mentaiko

Mentaiko

 

I sometimes cook pasta with the mentaiko and it’s also very delicious!

Mentaiko Pasta

Mentaiko Pasta

The pasta is very popular among Japanese peopl, and that is also my favorite Japanese flavored pasta.

The other one that my husband bought for us is “karashi-renkon” in Japanese. It’s a fried vegitable,  lutus stuffed some Japanese masterd. The flavor is very spaicy and it’s a very local food in Kagoshima.

Karashi-Renkon

Karashi-Renkon

 

Japanese masterd is much more spicy than Western masterd.  It was my fist time to try to eat it, but it was too spicy for me and I coudn’t eat it.

If you love spicy food, when you come to Japan, I highly recommend to you that you try it. You may like it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. quynhchu
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 14:37:42

    yeah, look like so delicious :))
    i havent had chance to try it,( you know, in vietnam, japanese food is very expensive, and it is for a student like me try it) but, many people said that japanese food is very very yummy, everyone should try it.
    hope ,in the near future, i will eat japanese food.
    i see one thing interesting, japanese food is very beautiful, i mean it looks like mouth-watering with funny creation. i have seen japanese dishes with cartoon characters or manga characters or sth like gangnam style, ect. you know, it is cute, creative,…
    huh, i want to eat japanese food now, ^_^ ;:”))

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 05:59:43

      Hi, Quyn. How have you been? How do you spend your New Years days in Vietnam. I’m very curious about your culture. Yeah, I’m sorry for heat that. Somehow, even in Japan some Japanese foods are very expensive. I hope you can get some Japanese foods next year! Hope you have a great year!!

      -Yumi

      Reply

  2. Happy Yuan
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 12:03:14

    Mentaiko is familiar to us in Kumamoto, but not in Honshu, isn’t it? I sometimes add it to the mashed potato. I think karashi-renkon is local food in Kumamoto. I don’t like it either.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 14, 2013 @ 13:19:55

      Hi, Happy Yuan-san.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks for the comment!

      I think we can get the mentaiko in the main land of Japan and it’s popular here as well. However, I don’t think the karashi-renkon is popular here. What do you think?

      Reply

  3. Happy Yuan
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 11:19:52

    I think only people like mustard can eat karashi-renkon. I like mustard on a sausage, but Japanese mustard…yuck.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 15, 2013 @ 11:39:17

      Haha, I see. I also think some Japanese mustard’s flavor is different from some Western mustard. I like both of them, though. I don’t think some Western mustard is spicy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

