Merry Christmas from Japan!

I’m very curious in other countries people also have a special menu for Christmas at some restaurants. In Japan some Western style restaurants have special menu for Christmas.

In my family’s case we tend to go out to eat dinner every year and this year we went to a Spanish restaurant in Fukui. When I chatted with my Texan friend and Floridian friend on Skype, since two of them were very curious about the Japanese special Christmas menu, I’d love to share the menu that we enjoyed this year. I know some of foods on the menu are not Spanish foods, but I want you to know that the location is in Japan.

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

The Spanish restaurant has been serving only the menu in 23rd, 24th and 25th of December.  Of course we have to book the restaurant because the Christmas season was full of reservations.

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

My husband ordered a bottle of Spanish beer.

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A bowl of potato soup.

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

This was very interesting and it’s my first time to eat. The brown pan is some oil with fish and potatoes.  We ate some bread with the oil. It was yum!  The potion of the bread and the oil were for three people.

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

Some pasta with some crabs and crab sauce with some fish eggs. To be honest with you, I don’t like the fish eggs and I gave them to my daughter because she loves them.

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A desert: A mixed of cassis and wine flavored sherbet

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A piece of beef with some sauce. The sauce flavor was like some teriyaki sauce for me.

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

A Spanish Restaurant in Fukui

Some deserts: a piece of chocolate cake, a piece of almond cake and some vanilla flavored ice cream

Although I forgot to take a picture of a cup of tea, we were served a cup of tea.

The potions were for one person except the breads.  You might be surprised at the Japanese potion, but for me the potion was good enough.

How are you spending your holiday season this year? I hope you and your family have a great time together! Merry Christmas from Japan!

-Yumi

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helga Jaermann
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 15:08:55

    Well I don’t now so much about Spanish Resterant. Many time I am cooking for Christmas potatoes salad and warm ham, my mother was cooking that, I love this food, it remember me home

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 24, 2012 @ 15:13:05

      Hi, Helga!

      Thank you so much for sharing it! Do you know that through you I’ve been learning European culture, especially Austria and Switzerland culture? I love learning everything and I’m very curious about everything! Now, I’m very very curious about the Christmas potato salad and the warm ham!!!!!

      Reply

  2. Christian
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 21:17:33

    Fish (especially carp) and turkey are most famous meals for xmas here in germany. I was very surprised when I learned that many Japanese go to KFC or a burger chain for xmas, as that has a flavour of ‘cheap and unhealthy food’ in germany.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 27, 2012 @ 06:05:21

      Hi, Christian!

      Long time no see and thanks for visiting my blog again! Thank you for the comment! Yeah, KFC is very popular for the Christmas season! Even though the first food restaurants also have their special menus for Christmas in Japan. Christmas is quite a business here.

      Reply

  3. dafarmer
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 05:14:47

    Yumi, This year is my son’s second Christmas! So we are stay home until the weekend, when we go to Las Vegas to see family. Our tradition is we make coffee in the morning then open presents. My husband will make crepes for breakfast and then I start cooking a roost along with gratin potatoes and greens. The I make desert and we usually go over to a friend’s house. This year will be fun because my son is now 14 months old so he likes to rip the wrapping paper up. Thank you for sharing Yumi!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 27, 2012 @ 06:07:22

      Hi, dafarmer!

      Long time no see! How have you been? Thanks for sharing your family tradition! How was this Christmas? I’m sure you enjoyed it with your family and your lovely son! I wish you had a great new year day!!!

      Reply

      • dafarmer
        Dec 27, 2012 @ 21:25:49

        Very good! My son got a lot of presents. We were thrilled to find that he likes books more that all of his toys. We now take him to the library once a week to pick out a book.

      • yumi
        Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:31:26

        Hi, dafamer.

        Thanks for visiting again! That’s really great!!! My daughter doesn’t like reading, lol. I hope she will come to like it some day! I love reading and this year I read 48 books in English without using a dictionary. Good luck to your lovely son!!!

  4. Emilie Wiley
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 14:36:10

    Hi Yumi, Our tradition has been to try to get as many family members together as possible at some point during the Christmas season. This year we were able to get 22 of us together last Sunday. I had prepared a large electric roaster full of beef stew plus a medium sized spiral ham. Along with that we had a meat and cheese platter with crackers, some biscuits, home made bread, jello salad, onange/pineapple and coconut salad, cabbage salad plus the usual carrot and celery sticks, green onions, sliced cucumbers and black olives. For dessert we had our choice of apple dumplings, home made fruit cake, chocolate bar cookies and/or some home made chocolate dipped candies. For the past 5 years I’ve done it this way—-the food is all out in our enclosed patio where it’s cold enough to keep the cold food cold while the hot food is kept hot in electric roasters or slow cookers. This way we do not have a traditional set-down dinner but rather the food is set up and kept warm/cold so that whenever anyone is hungry they can just go out to the patio and pick and choose whatever it may be that they want to eat at that time. They bring their food back in to our diningroom and eat it there. Sometimes this sets off a chain reaction where others join in and eat with them or they may end up eating all by themselves while other family members set around the table visiting or playing some kind of games such as cards or Sequence. All in all it makes it much easier for me since I only have to make sure that there’s enough food on the serving dishes in the pation (check them once in a while and refill if necessary). This also makes it much easier for any families that have already been to another family dinner. Once they get to our house they’re not expected to be here at a specific time for a formal set down dinner. It’s much more relaxed and everyone seems to enjoy the casual atmosphere. In fact, it’s so casual that some families arrive on the day before our stated get together date and stay 2 or 3 days. Not a problem—-we’ve always managed to find someplace for everyone to sleep and the kids love to spend time with their relatives.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:37:07

      Hi, Emilie!

      Thanks for sharing your family tradition! I think your spending way of Christmas is pretty much same as our spending way of New Years. In Japan New Year is much more important for families and many people get together to spend with their family. When my grandma in my mom’s side was alive, she loved throwing parties for New Years and every year many people; cousins, ants, uncles and relatives had gotten my grandma and granpa’s house. She cooked many food and people also brought a lot of food. I really miss the parties because my mom doesn’t like throwing the kind of parties and our tradition changed.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

