Some Ways to Drink Sake in Cold Seasons

A couple of days ago I received a Christmas gift from my British friend. He sent me some biscuits, tea, a small bottle of Whiskey and spice for wine. It was my first time to see the spice, and I thought it was very interesting.

 

A Christmas gift from my British friend

A Christmas gift from my British friend

When I chatted with my British friend on Skype, I asked him how to drink some wine with it. He told me that we would heat a whole bottle of wine with a pan and add the entire spice to it. While checking out the taste of the wine, we add some sugar as well. It’s called mulled wine, and it’s popular in European countries.

Mulled Wine

Mulled Wine

 

While explaining about it to me, he told me that in Japan we also have the similar idea. Since an ancient days, we have been drinking Japanese alcohol called “sake”. Since I can’t drink any kinds of alcohol, I’ve never tried to drink it. My husband prefers some beer, and he doesn’t drink sake at home. However, we also have the similar idea to sake.

For example, kan-zake is quite similar as warm wine. We heat the sake. Although I didn’t know that, adding some ginger to the heated sake is also popular and it’s called ginger sake(syouga zake). I haven’t drunk egg sake, but it’s also the similar idea of eggnog. It’s sake-nog!

 

kan-zake

kan-zake

 

Ginger Sake

Ginger Sake

 

Sake-nog

Sake-nog

 

 

I think it’s very interesting even though our culture is quite different, we drink some alcohol in the similar way. It’s not only between Japan and some Western countries. Many people do enjoy drinking alcohol in the way. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mulled_wine
It’s getting colder and colder, according to the Japanese news, we will have a white Christmas everywhere in Japan. Drinking alcohol is one of the joy for us to make us relaxed. Enjoy your holidays!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helga Jaermann
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 14:23:16

    Yumiko yes it is right, we call this Drink Gluehwin. When you are visiting me in Switzerland, or in Thailand I am cooking one for you, OK

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:15:40

      Yay! Helga!! Thank you so much for your hospitality!!!!! I’m looking forward to drinking the wine with you and Robert!!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

