Do You Believe in Dying Messages?

Today I want to tell a story of my grandfather on my father’s site.

He was a conductor of JR sleeping train for a long time. I lost him when I was 30 years old, and he was my favorite grandpa. Since my mom was a working mom, my sister and I were raised by my father’s parents.

When my grandpa died, I lived in Wakayama city with my husband. The early in the morning we received a phone call from my mom. We returned to our hometown soon. I was very shocked to loose my grandpa. I couldn’t believe that. He was the same age as our former emperor Hirohito, and when he died, he was 92 years old. I can tell you that he died a peaceful death.

After his funeral, my grandma told my dad, mom, sister, husband and me a very interesting story about him. Before the day he died, he asked to my grandma if she would prepare things for him to go work. My grandpa’s job was a conductor of a sleeping train. He said that the train he had to get in was waiting for him, so she had to hurry up. He couldn’t mess it up. It meant that my grandma had to prepare his undershirts, cloths, socks or whatever. She thought he got senile because he retired from the job long time ago, and most of the time he tended to lay down on his futon bed. She thought he really said such the strange things because he never said such things before. Even so, she just nodded and pretended to prepare his stuff. He seemed to be very satisfied with it.

The following day really early morning she found he passed away. She said that that’s was his message for going to die. She told us that when people are going to die, they sometimes feel the time for death. I really don’t know if that was his message, but I thought it was very interesting.

After loosing my grandpa, I lost two of my grandmas and my another grandpa in three years. Although it’s very interesting, all of them really appreciated to us before passing away. My mom has believed in what my grandma said. She said when we are going to die, we recognize the time and tend to appreciate to everyone.

Do you believe in this story? Do you think we leave a dying message before we die?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matilda Jane Holmes
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 04:17:02

    Lovely story Yumi. I am sure there are lots of things that we umans know before time but we are just not in tune with the indications-maybe one day we will become better at noticing…

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 06, 2012 @ 04:22:33

      Hi, Jane.

      Thanks for the quick comment! Yeah, it relates to our sixth sense. I don’t know if we have such the sense, but when we are going to die, all of us find something………

      Reply

  2. djloopacabra
    Dec 06, 2012 @ 07:01:07

    Yes I believe in it too. I’ve heard many similar stories, even in my own family. I think we might know subconsciously that we are close to death or ready to die, without knowing it consciously.

    I’m sorry for your loss. It might sound strange to say, but I think your grandfather was lucky to have such a peaceful death. I hope I’m lucky enough to have such a peaceful ending to my life.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 06, 2012 @ 08:12:51

      Hi, Matt.

      Thank you for the comment and telling me about your opinion. I was a bit surprised that you believe in that. You might be right. Before going to die, we might feel something awkward and it relates to our subconsciousness. Who knows. I heard we use only 10 % maybe 5 % of our brains.

      Thinking about animals’ death. They know their dieing time. Especially I’ve heard that cats don’t like showing their dieing time to their owners and some of them hide from their owners.

      Same with me, I also want to have a peaceful ending and be sutisfied with my life. I want to think my life will be great when I’m going to die.

      Reply

  3. Helga Jaermann
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 15:24:16

    Yes Yumi, many time, if I have a Problem, I am asking somebody, of my family or good friends there already passing away for help and there help me. Or there coming and say goodby to me.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 08, 2012 @ 10:12:30

      Hi, Helga!

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog!!! Thank you for the comment! Wow, do you also have the similar experiences as me? It’s very interesting…….
      Yeah, I also believe that we have such the sixth sense………

      Reply

  4. dotdos
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 17:02:45

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful story. I have no doubt that many people, not all, can sense when death is approaching and prepare for it. Because of my profession, I have lived some interesting experiences of this type. Best regards.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 11, 2012 @ 16:31:22

      Hi, dotodos.

      Thanks for visiting my blog again and thanks for the comment! Wow, do you also have the similar experiences like me? Interesting! I’d love to listen to your experiences!

      Reply

      • Matt
        Dec 27, 2012 @ 06:04:33

        I’m very scared now because my grandpa is recently very nice to everyone, sometimes before he sleep he says good night to everyone. He also say thank you for every little thing. He was not like this before! Honestly, I am so scared …

      • yumi
        Dec 27, 2012 @ 06:11:14

        Hi, Matt. Thanks for visiting my blog! Are you from Lang-8?
        If so, I’m very happy that you read my blog entry!

        Anyway, no worries. It’s an age stuff and after getting older, we become much nicer and more kind. That’s because we learned a lot and realize that we should be nice and kind to everyone!

Leave a Reply

