Koro

I’ve been reading Chicken Soup for the Dog Lover’s Soul in English without using a dictionary. Most of stories are very touchy and I can’t help remembering my dogs in my life.

My sister and I were raised with dogs. I lost my first dog when I was a kindergarten kid. I met my second dog as soon as I lost my first dog. He was a big puppy and it was easy for everybody that he would become a big dog. On the way to home from my kindergarten he followed me. My sister and I asked our dad if we could have him. He made us promise to take care of him, and he became a member of our family. Since he was chubby, we named him Koro.

Koro became a big dog and when he was young, he was very powerful. Our dad loves gardening and he had a lot of beautiful bonsai. Koro loved playing with bonsai, and one day he destroyed all of them. Our dad really got angry and all day long he was in a bad mood.

Koro sometimes escaped from us and was hit by a car twice. Since he was a strong dog, he didn’t get any serious hurts and he survived. When he turned eight years old, he started coughing. He sometimes threw up. We thought he was sick. Our mom asked a vet to visit our house and see him. The Vet told us he had been suffering from filaria and his situation was terminal. He was getting worse and worse. One day our dad asked us if we would put him to sleep because it seemed to be hard for him even to breathe. However, my sister and I argued and disagreed with his opinion. We were very scared to lose him.

When the vet saw him as usual, he told us in two days he probably would die. We slept with him, touched him and spoke to him. My sister and I didn’t even want to go to school. It was Saturday. Every Saturday my sister and I had taken piano lessons. We asked to our mom if we could be absent from the lesson because we didn’t want to leave him, but she didn’t allow it. We had to go to the piano lesson. Before going out our house, Koro was still alive. He took a look up us with very sad eyes. We huged him and told him that we would go back soon. After we got home, he already died with opening hie eyes. We thought he was waiting for us to look at us once again before dieing. We cried to think about him that how much he felt lonely before he died. We also regreted we couldn’t say good bye to him.

It was the first time to make me think about death. Now I have an old female black Labrador Retriever. I’ve already made a decision, if she would get sick and it would be difficult for her to recover from the illness, I’d love to put her to sleep. I really don’t want to see my pet suffering anymore.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. quynhchu
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 15:40:07

    The touching story 🙂
    for people around us, we should respect and love them; because everything all can happen, and we can’t know in advance
    love the life, love people around us

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 27, 2012 @ 06:13:53

      HI, quynhchu!

      Thanks for the comment and I’m very sorry for the delay.

      Reply

      • quynhchu
        Dec 27, 2012 @ 14:48:31

        hi yumi, my name is quynh, i come from Vietnam. i know you and your blog by accident i search on google about “the spririt of japanese”. (i am very very love japanese culture and want to learn more about it) and having somethings i don’t inspired me read more and more your writing, and i love it. i often take the time to read your blog when i am free. i see it is interesting. hope you will write more and more.
        sincerely,
        quynhchu

      • yumi
        Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:39:22

        Hi, Quynhchu.

        Your comment made my day! That’s the exact meaning for me to keep on blogging!!!! Yes, I try my best and wanna post a bunch of blog entries to introduce Japan to someone who loves Japan! Stay tuned to my blog next year as well!

        Have a lovely New Year day with your family!!!

  2. dotdos
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 23:21:39

    Nice story! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

