Japanese Summer Food, Soba

Hi, there. Quite a long time no see. I’ve been doing fine, but I’ve been very busy not to post anything both on my painting blog and this blog. Please forgive me. After a couple of months later, I’m sure I will be more free and post my artwork there.

Meanwhile, today I will introduce Japanese noodle “Soba”. My current city where I live is famous with “soba”, and the soba here is called “echizen soba (越前蕎麦)” in Japanese. Before I moved in Fukui prefecture, I didn’t know about the soba at all. My previous city, Matumoto city in Nagano prefecture was also very famous with soba. It is “shinshu soba (信州蕎麦). I think Shinsyu soba is much more famous than Echizen soba. I like both of them.

Echizen soba is different from Shinshu soba. Shinshu soba has more soba flour in it. When the soba is made from 100% soba flour, it’s called “jyuwari soba (十割蕎麦)”. I’ve eaten a lot of jyuwari soba in Nagano, but I haven’t seen the soba in Fukui. I think Fukui’s soba is mixed soba flour and other flour. The color of soba is also different. Shinsyu soba is white-ish, and Echizen shoba is gray-ish. To be honest with you, jyuwasi soba isn’t a digestible food. I sometimes have very heavy stomach feeling after eating jyuwasi soba.

The right way to eat echizen soba is to have it with some white radish (Japanese Daikon 大根), green onions and soy source flavored soup stock. The white radish is always grated with a white radish grater. It’s a cold food and really match for summer food.

A couple of days ago, my husband, daughter and I went out to eat echizen soba at the very famous soba restaurant here. Soba is a very healthy food. It is rich of vitamin B1, B2, protein and very law calorie. I think Japanese summer, especially here in summer is very humid and hot, and it’s easy for us to get tired. Vitamin B1 and B2 help our recovery from the feelings. That why people here love eating soba in summer.

 

My husband's dish. He ordered soba with some fried pork.

My husband’s dish. He ordered soba with some fried pork.

 

My husband's dish. He ordered soba with some fried pork.

My husband’s dish. He ordered soba with some fried pork.

 

My order with some Tempra.

My order with some Tempra.

 

Our daughter's order. Soba with some Tempra

Our daughter’s order. Soba with some Tempra

 

信州そば shinsyu soba

信州そば shinsyu soba

 

越前蕎麦 echizen soba

越前蕎麦 echizen soba

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cocomino
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:53:43

    I like soba. All of them look so delicious. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Dixie
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 13:57:04

    A high fiber diet causes a fullness feeling and should be entered gradually. The jyuwari sounds like high fiber so that causes you to feel full. The one you had in Kutani looks good!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 29, 2012 @ 17:20:47

      Hi, Dixie.

      Thanks for as always for the comment. Yeah, you are right. I will bring soba for you and we can try it in America!

      Reply

  3. mygsasha
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 10:34:30

    I almost can smell it.:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

