Kenroku-en in Winter

A couple days of  ago I went to Kanazawa City with my family to see a night view of a Japanese garden, called Kenroku-en.

As you know, this winter we have had a lot of snow. When we arrived at the park, there was a lot of snow. It was very cold. Our daughter started to complain about the snow and cold weather.

However, when we looked around the night view of the Japanese garden, we gasped. It was so dreamy, fantastic and beautiful!!
All trees covered with snow were lighted up with some lights. It was so fabolous! We have a lot of snow here where we live. To protect the heavy snow, all trees are covered by Yukitsuri.   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yukitsuri

We could see the Yukitsuri in Kenroku-en too. The scenery is very popular in winter.

While looking around the garden, we could listen to nice music. It was mix of a guitar  and a Chinese instrument, called “erhu”. It created a very fantastic atmosphere. We loved it.

I love Japanese gardens. They have a lot of different faces in each season. I can’t tell you that which season is the best because cherry blossoms in spring, green leaves in summer, yellow, orange and red leaves in autumn and a lot of snow in winter, all of them are so nice!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. niasunset
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 23:29:53

    I love Japanese gardens too… Actually I haven’t been in Japan but there is a small Japanese Garden in Istanbul, I love to visit there sometimes… But sure, it is a great dream to see them there… Thank you so much, I loved what you shared with us. With my love, nia

    Reply

    • yumi
      Feb 15, 2012 @ 12:09:39

      Hi, nia. Thanks for the comment! I’m very sorry that I couldn’t reply to you soon. I have been very busy for preparing my painting classes in America. The day after tomorrow I will fly to there.

      You should come to Japan! I will take you to the place. I love guiding!! We would have wonderful time together!!!!

      Reply

      • niasunset
        Feb 15, 2012 @ 12:34:41

        Thank you so much dear Yumi, it is same for me too, I mean it would be so nice to meet with you in there and also in here too. Have a nice and safety travel. With my love, nia

    • yumi
      Feb 15, 2012 @ 12:45:55

      Thank you, nia! Some day we should meet in parson in Japan, shouldn’t we?!

      I’m excited to learn new techniques and improve my painting skills. I also except that I will be able to improve my English skills at the same time!

      Reply

      • niasunset
        Feb 15, 2012 @ 12:50:08

        Sounds all so exciting, you are doing great. Good Luck. I would be so glad if I visit Japan one day and to meet with you but I would like to see you here too, in Istanbul. You are so nice, have a nice day, with my love, nia

    • yumi
      Feb 15, 2012 @ 13:10:28

      You are nice, too, Dear, nia. Yes, I will try my best in America!

      I didn’t know that you live in Istanbul. The country seems to be very exotic for me! I’d love to visit your country some day. We have to put the stuff on our wish lists, lol.

      Reply

  2. Mike arend
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 01:25:48

    !!!! Super nice!!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Feb 15, 2012 @ 12:10:44

      Hi, Michael. Long time no see. How have you been? Recently I haven’t seen you on Facebook.

      Thanks for the comment. Yeah, It was amazing!!!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

