Funny Pictures for Japanese People

I’d like to share some funny pictures with you today. I took them when I was in America last time. I know they are not funny for Western people, but when Japanese people look at them, they definitely giggle.

First, look at the picture.

Funny Pictures for Japanese people

Funny Pictures for Japanese people

It doesn’t make sense for us. What is こってりみりん(kotteri Mirin)?????  I guess it says the mirin (sweet cooking rice wine)has rich flavor, but I’ve never heard こってりみりんin Japan. It associates me with some syrup which have very strong flavor. When I looked at it, I really didn’t want to try it. I’m sorry.

Funny Pictures for Japanese people

Funny Pictures for Japanese people

This is also very funny for us.  We don’t have the tea, 通便茶 (tuuben cha) in Japan! It imagines me that when we drink the tea, we can keep bowel movements very good. I’d like to try it!! It’s so funny.

Funny Pictures for Japanese people

Funny Pictures for Japanese people

The sweet made both my hubby and daughter laugh. I also have no idea what it says. What is the meaning by 恋愛のはさみ心ケーキ(renai no hasami gokoro cake)? The Japanese words doesn’t make sense for us, but we can guess the meaning. It’s really nice try! That’s why it sounds funny for us. I guess it wanted to say the flavor is sweet and bitter like when people love, we can fell the same feelings. I’m very curious about the sweet. I’d like to make sure if the flavor is exact the same as the lovers’ feelings.

Funny Pictures for Japanese people

Funny Pictures for Japanese people

It’s my favorite picture. Look at the logo of the T-shirt. We can see 守備職人 (syubi syoku nin)in Japanese. It also doesn’t make sense for me. When I looked at the T-shirt, I wanted to ask the guy, “Hey, are you an expart or master of the fieling of baseball or something like that?” Of course, I’m a shy person, so I couldn’t speak to the stranger. However, in my mind, I giggled. I guess he thought he was cool, that’s why he was wearing the T-shirt. However, he never thinks the logo never makes sense for Japanese people. When we see it, we giggle him in our mind. Poor the guy!

I like taking funny objects pictures relate to Japanese culture. So, when I go to America, next time, and if I have some chances to take some such pictures, I’d like to try it again.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. niasunset
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 13:03:29

    These funny pictures are so interesting for me, of course cultural differences can be seen in these kind of things too. Thank you for all these explanation, made them clear to understand. With my love, nia

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 14:11:31

      Hi, nia. Yeah. I can understand. When my international friends come to my place, we sometimes go out. At the time, they find some funny English words and try to explain how funny they are. However, I sometimes can’t understand them.

      I’m looking forward to receving some comments from Japanese people. I’m curious what they think about it.

      Anyway, thanks as always for reading my blog entry! Have a good weekend!!

      Reply


  2. Jan 27, 2012 @ 14:06:00

    chances are, people don’t even care what’s written on it, because for them, the writings don’t make sense anyways. they’re just decorative chicken scratches.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 14:14:57

      Hi, Andi. Exactly! They can’t read Japanese at all. That’s why they can’t mind about it. We also use many strange and funny English to our products that never make sense for them. When my international friends visit to me, they always point out some funny English words and start to laugh. However, it also doesn’t make sense for me.

      Reply

  3. dafarmer
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 22:57:20

    I can see what you mean Yumi! It can be funny I guess it works both ways! You don’t even think about that when you see Japanese products in the States. You would think that they were imported but I guess not. 😛

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 11:37:17

      Hello, dafarmer! How are you doing? Yeah, they are not imported products. Most of them come from China or other Asian countries. I’m surprised that every time I go to America, I can see many Japanese products ( I mean I can see many Japanese words on many packages) in a lot of Asian markets. Although I really don’t like the smell of American Asian markets ( Actually, it’s horrible), I love going there. Although I didn’t post a picture of some frozen Sushi, it also surprised me a lot.

      Reply

      • dafarmer
        Jan 30, 2012 @ 22:45:07

        I know I dislike the smell of Asian markets too.

      • yumi
        Feb 01, 2012 @ 09:34:43

        Hi again, dafarmer.

        I don’t think there is someone who likes the smell, lol. However, I still like the Asian markets in America. It looks very interesting for me!

Leave a Reply

