Craftsmanship in Japanese Traditonal Arts and Crafts

I went to Kanazawa City to take my first Kutani painting class for this year today. To be honest with you, I’m the only student for my Kutani teacher. When I started to take the class, there were two other students. However, both two of them started to be absent from classes since three months ago. I don’t know why.

I guess that’s because it will take a long time to finish one piece. They can’t stand it. My painting teacher is an elderly craftsman. So, he makes us follow old rules on painting. It seems to be old-fashion for them.

My teacher and I discussed Japanese traditional arts and crafts. Kanazawa City is one of the representative cities for Japanese arts and crafts. We can learn many arts and crafts there through museums, libraries, craft and art shows and classes. However, the population of the number who is interested in them has been going down. Many young people don’t like Japanese traditional arts and crafts. They prefer Western arts and crafts. It’s really sad.

One of my dreams is to introduce many various Japanese china painting in English all over the world. I told my dreams to my Kutani teacher. He encouraged me a lot. I got a very cute cup for Japanese sake, called 杯(はい、さかずき, Hai, Sakazuki) from my teacher. He painted it to me. It’s painted a dragon, this year’s Japanese-Chinese zodiac. He said that in Kutain every year painters paint the Chinese zodiac for the year on many 杯 and some 色紙 (しきし, Shikishi=it’s made from paper for painting). They give them to their acquaintances to pray their good luck. I love the tradition!

Kutani Painting with a Japanese Painting Style, Dragon

Kutani Painting with a Japanese Painting Style, Dragon

Kutani Painting with a Japanese Painting Style,

Kutani Painting with a Japanese Painting Style,

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. niasunset
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 13:08:35

    This is so beautiful…. how made me excited now your energy and your dream… it is so sad about these young people… Actually western world is much more interesting with eastern art cultures, especially Japanese and Chinese… I love these old and traditional art… It is great. And how nice you have been in this class… I wish you Good Luck, you are doing great. First of all we should learn our own traditional art then we can create something new in modern world… I am sure, your great art culture will be a quide, a muse, an inspiration for you in your own works… Thank you for sharing with us, I am also so excited to follow your blog. Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 10, 2012 @ 13:22:39

      Hi, nia! Happy New Year! How was your new year holidays?

      Thanks for reading my first blog entry for this year. I’ve been painting my first Kutani plate for 6 months! It’s taken for me a long time, lol. I guess that’s why young generation doesn’t like it. Thanks for the wish and encouragement! I’d like to become a better painter and artist like to be able to show some Japanese spirits on my art.

      Reply

  2. niasunset
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 16:47:01

    http://photographyofnia.com/2012/01/10/8872/
    You are welcome dear Yumi I am so excited to see your works… Good Luck and have a nice and enjoyable moments… You are one of my nominated bloggers for Versatile Blogger Award. Thank you, with my love, nia

    Reply

  3. toni acock
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 18:45:38

    It has been a dream of mine to learn Japanese traditional style painting on porcelain.(also chinese style) WHen you begin to teach, let me know. Maybe I can come. Painting with this traditional master is a special gift to you. Congratulations.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 04:10:52

      Hi, Toni. Thank you so much for the comment. Will you go to the Canadian show on May? I will go there and have two presentations. One of them is an Imari painting. I will show how to paint with the style in English. Haha, I’m not confidence in speaking in English in public, though. My dear American friends, Gay and Emilie also will beside me. So, if people won’t understand me, they will help me. I also will sell some of my artwork there. If you come, we can meet in person there!

      I’d like to teach the Imari technique and the Kutani technique in the future. So, I’m so happy that you will become my first student!

      Reply

  4. Akiko
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 17:17:35

    I read your some latest entries. Those were so good ones. Especially “Japanese language is negative”. I quite agree with you.
    To be honest, I’ve been living in U.S and other country for over 15 years, but I haven’t had any chance to make friend with many people. That’s because I don’t have any confidence of my English. However I just encouraged by your challenge. I’d like to learn form you from now on.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 25, 2012 @ 18:30:22

      Hi, Akiko-san. Thanks for reading some my blog entries. I’m glad that you also feel like the same feelings from our language.

      I’m also not confidence in speaking in English. However, I have some ambitions that I really would love to make come true. That’s why I’ve been learning conversational English.

      If my attitude encouraged you, it would be great! Since I started to study English, I have received a lot of international friends all over the world. I really love English! It’s a passport for me to adventure all over the world. It’s a ticket for me to travel around the world. I’d love to expand my horizons with using it!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

