A Story of Japanese Chinese Zodiac

Have you heard about Chinese Zodiac? It has 3000 years old in the history. It came from China. Do you know how and why we decided the order of the Chinese Zodiac? Why a cat wasn’t chosen as a member of the Japanese Chinese zodiac?

We have an interesting story about our Chinese Zodiac. I’d like to share the story with you today.

Long time ago, God told to the all animals. Come to my place to greet New Year’s greeting. Who comes to here first? I will make the winner as a leader of next year. All kind of animals made their own plans to win. A cat forgot to the date to go to the God’s place. He asked about it to a mouse. Since he hates the cat, he told a lie. He told to the cat that the date was one day later.

A cow thought that he was the slowest in the animals. So, he decided that he should start to go one day earlier. When he started, the mouse who was very smart looked at it. He jumped on the cow’s back. Without realizing it, the cow arrived at the gate of the God place. He thought he was the winner. However, the mouse jumped down from the cow’s back and ran. He won and got the first place. This was followed by the cow, a tiger, a rabbit, a dragon, a snake, a horse, a sheep, a monkey, a rooster, a dog and a boar. The cat arrived at there one day later. So, he couldn’t join the group. That’s why when cats look at mice, they chase mice because they still blame on it. In addition, when God saw the cat, he told that he should come there after he washed his face again. That’s why cats likes washing their faces.

What is your Chinese Zodiac? In Japan next year’s zodiac is a dragon.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_zodiac

http://japanese.about.com/od/japanesecultur1/a/100498.htm

 

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matthew
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 23:30:07

    How was the snake faster than the horse? Are Chinese snakes really fast, or are Chinese horses really slow?

    Thank you for teaching me about the Chinese Zodiac. It’s very interesting.
    I think I would have been a cat because I am definitely lazy and I forget about things a lot.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 30, 2011 @ 05:01:35

      Haha,, you are right! I don’t know how the snake bit the horse. I guess he also cheated like the mouse. I’m also a snake, Matt, hehehehe. So, I guess that I’m good at cheating. Be careful!

      You are welcome. I’m really glad that you like the story. I don’t think you are a cat. You are definitely a boar.

      Reply

    • Christa
      Jan 02, 2013 @ 19:36:56

      The snake beat the horse becuse the snake curled around the horses hove and got in front of the horse at gods place

      Reply

      • yumi
        Jan 03, 2013 @ 17:54:34

        Hi, Christa.

        Thanks for visiting my blog and teaching me the reason why the snak won the horse. I didn’t know the reason.

  2. dafarmer
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 05:22:54

    I am an Inoshishi, my husband is a Nezumi and my son is Usagi. 🙂

    Reply

  3. jeb
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 04:52:53

    Hi my son is born Jan 12…. is he a inushishi because he is born in January, or is he the sign from the prior year the inu because jan 12 still hasnt see the chinese new year yet? anyone know, it driving me a bit batty researching the answer

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 24, 2013 @ 05:46:10

      Hi, Jeb

      Nice to meet you and thanks for visiting my blog. The Chinese zodiac doesn’t relate to which month you were born, and it relates to which year you were born.
      So, I can’t tell your son’s Chinese zodiac is a wild big. Sorry for that.

      Reply

  4. litzy
    Oct 06, 2015 @ 16:25:37

    This was an interesting story I really like it, but I feel sorry for the cat
    I think I’m kind of the cat because I’m never wanted in a group

    Reply

    • yumi
      Oct 06, 2015 @ 23:29:16

      Hi,Litzy

      Thanks for visiting my blog and reading the blog post! Thanks for the comment as well!

      I am also like a kitty, lol. I don’t like belonging to the group either, lol. And I am a cat person!

      I am sorry that I haven’t updated any blog entries recently, but I will start it soon! So stay turned!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

