My New Year’s Resolutions

What are your New Year’s Resolutions? In my case, of course I’d like to improve my painting skills and my English comprehension skills further.

Last year, I made a New Year’s Resolution that I wanted to read 48 books in English. However, after 5 months. I realized that it would be impossible for me. And then, I changed my resolution to read 24 books in English because two years ago I read 24 books in English. I thought I could do it this year too. It’s still hard for me!!!! I haven’t read 24 books in English yet. I know I have still 9 days left, but I don’t think I can achieve my goal. That’s because I still have to read three books in English!!
I have been pushing myself to reach the goal, but I don’t think that I will be able to achieve it.

So, next year, I’d like to become more organized to read books in English. I’m thinking that I’d like to challenge to read 48 books in English again next year! I think if I could read a book in English every single week, I could reach the goal. I really would love to challenge it again! Way to go, Yumi!!!

In addition, I’d like to add to write that I’d like to watch American dramas in English without any subtitles every single day next year. This year, although I watched many American dramas and movies in English without any subtitles, I couldn’t watch them every day. I’d like to challenge it too.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WC
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 13:43:03

    I actually don’t make New Year’s resolutions. I decided long ago that I would live my life to the fullest daily, and not pick 1 time of the year to make all my life-altering decisions and goals.

    Good luck on your goals for this year. 🙂

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 23, 2011 @ 09:51:40

      Hi, William-san. Thanks for the comment. I understand. I think my ideas and thoughts come from my Japanese culture. I asked the same questions to my international friends. All of they answered like you. We can see our culture references here. It’s very interesting.

      Reply

  2. dafarmer
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 15:24:25

    First and foremost no more Soft Drinks! I’m stopping as soon as the new year hits. I want to also get better at Belly Dance by practicing at least one day a week at home and I want to run a half Marathon this year.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 23, 2011 @ 09:53:34

      Hi, dafarmer. Thanks for the comment. Your New Year’s Resolutions seem to be very nice! Good luck!!! I’d like to report each other about the results of our New Year’s Resolutions at the end of next year! I’m looking forward to it.

      Reply

  3. Julie
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 06:03:00

    Hi Yumi, for my new year’s resolution I have taken to heart the proverb that you taught me in your blog “石の上にも3年”.
    I’m continuing with my drawing classes and will see how far another year’s practice can take me.
    Happy new year to you!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 13:51:26

      Hi, Julie. Thanks for the comment. How was your New Year’s celebration?

      I hope you can achieve your goal for this year! I also like the proverb, “Where there is a will, there is a way”. It is 意志あるところに道は開ける in Japanese.
      I’ve believed in it.

      I also have another New Year’s Resolution. I’d like to finish painting one portrait for a month. I hope I can reach the goal! -Yumi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

