What is Trendy in Japan Now

I’d like to write about current Japanese trends. As you know, I sometimes go to Tokyo to take my painting class. After school, my friend who loves to paint always takes me to many interesting places in Tokyo. Last time I went to Tokyo, she took me to a street whose name is Okubo (大久保). The street is next to Shinjuku (新宿). Before our painting school moved to Yotsuya (四谷), I passed through the street to go to our old painting school in Mejiso(目白).

When I looked down the street, I was so surprised because it was full of Korean shops: beauty salons, book stores, theaters, music stores, restaurants, food stands, language schools in Korean, fancy shops where we can buy Korean movie stars’ and idols’ bromides, nail salons and everything! It was my first time to see the street in two years. Okubo street has changed everything. I heard Korean a lot. Even people who were walking around on the street also spoke in Korean with their cell phones. I felt like that as if I was in a street in Korea.

I know that in Japan many young people are very interested in Korean idols and movie stars. We can watch many Korean idols and dramas on TV now. Korean starts sometimes come to Okubo street. That’s why there were so many people at the time. Learning Korean language and watching Korean drams and movies are kind of trendy now. I have some friends who love Korean culture.

When I was young, we were crazy for American culture. My idols were American Hollywood stars. I was grown up with American movies. When I was a kid, American hamburgers were trendy. Many people stood in the long lines to buy them. However, young generation in Japan isn’t interested in American culture. They prefer Korean culture more. Actually, both my husband and daughter love it.

On the other hand, it is very interesting though, even though many Japanese people love Korean culture now, we don’t like buying things made in Korea. It’s very rare for us to see Samsung products and Korean automobiles. However, when I go to America, every time I can see Samsung products and Korean automobiles here and there. I also can watch many commercials of them in the U.S. that I never watch in Japan. Korean products are so popular among American people now, but they are not popular among Japanese people at all.

I don’t know why Japanese people don’t like buying Korean products. I guess that we think Korean products are our copy and a bit out of fashion. That’s why people don’t like it. However, we love Korean culture. It’s very controversial, isn’t it?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dafarmer
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 13:27:29

    Wow I knew Korean movie star were getting popular in japan but I had no idea they were that popular. For a long time in the states korean products were thought of as junk. But like you said very recently they have gotten better, my TV is Samsung as well as my dishwasher. My SUv is a Kia too!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 23, 2011 @ 09:59:20

      Hi, daformer. Thanks for following my blog! I really appreciate you. Thanks for the comment. I couldn’t write on my blog entry, but I think there is still some discrimination in Japan against Koran people. That’s is one of the reasons……..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

