A Japanese Garden “Kenrokuen” (兼六園)

I’d like to show one of the most beautiful Japanese garden today. The garden is one of the top three Japanese gardens. It is called “兼六園” (けんろくえん, Kenrokuen)in Japanese. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenroku-en

I visited there with my British friend a couple of weeks ago. I wanted to show him one of the wonderful Japanese gardens. He really enjoyed viewing changing the colors of leaves there. I took some pictures. So, I’d like to share them with you today.

Kenrokuen 兼六園

Kenrokuen 兼六園

Look at the beautiful reflection on the pond. I think that many Japanese gardens have many ponds. That’s because we also can enjoy viewing the reflection on the water. I love the Japanese autumn season. I also think we can enjoy viewing Western gardens from a standing angle. On the other hand, in some Japanese gardens we can enjoy watching them from a sitting angle. That’s is a big difference between Western gardens and Japanese gardens.

Kenrokuen 兼六園

This is my favorite scene. I’m happy to be able to take a good picture  of it.

Kenrokuen 兼六園

The garden is very huge. So, while we were walking and enjoying viewing, we talked a lot. We had a great time in the garden.

Ishikawa prefecture was called “Kaga” in the Edo period. Kenrokuen has belonged to Kaga, Ishikawa prefecture. At the time, Kaga was very rich. They created their own crafts: Yuzenzome, Japanese lacquer, Temari, Japanese instruments like shamisen and koto, Japanese masks, Japanese pottery called Kutani painting and so on. That’s why the leader of Kaga could created such a huge Japanese garden.

Kenrokuen 兼六園

Look at this picture. The grand is covered with many yellow leaves. It looks like that everything is covered with a yellow carpet. It was so lovely. Both my British friend and I loved the scene.

兼六園 Kenrokuen

Kenrokuen 兼六園

Kenrokuen 兼六園

兼六園 Kenrokuen

It is a part of Japanese garden’s scenery of Autumn. I hope we can enjoy looking at them.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 22:45:59

    Yumi, love the photos. Our daughter and her husband spent 3 years in Japan back in the 90’s and they were kind enough to have us visit. I loved the gardens-and we took lots of photos but then discovered there was no film in the camera. Wish there had been digital camers back then. Thank you for the photos.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 16, 2011 @ 10:56:00

      Hi, Jane. Thanks as always for the comment! Thanks for sharing the story. Don’t you have any plan to come to Japan again? If you come, I will take you to the garden! So, let me know!

      Reply

  2. Josh
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 00:46:09

    Great Pictures Yumi, thanks. Buffalo, NY, where we live, is sister cities with Kanazawa and Kenrokuen is very famous around here. Gardeners from Kenrokuen came to Buffalo and designed a similar small garden here.
    http://www.serene-gardens.com

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 16, 2011 @ 10:55:03

      Hi, Josh. Nice to meet you. Thanks for the comment. I didn’t know that Buffalo ans Kanazawa city is sister cities. Thanks for the information. Thanks for the link. Your garden also seems to be very pretty!!! Some day, I’d like to go there to see it.

      Reply

  3. Daisy
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 14:58:41

    wa….wooooooow!!! (0.0)
    amazing!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

