Happy My Anniversary!

Hi, friends. Loooooooooooong time no see. I’m very sorry that I couldn’t post anything on this blog. Actually, I have been busy to make my dreams come true. However, I have been thinking of this blog for a long time. I’m happy that I finally can post a blog entry today. I’m thinking that I would like to write about Japanese funeral on my next blog entry because a couple weeks ago, I lost my uncle on my dad’s side. I guess it might be interesting for Western people. So, if you are interested in it, please keep on checking out my blog! Thank you so much!

Anyway, today is my anniversary! I just started to keep a dairy in English three yeas ago. I’ve been keeping a diary in English every day for three years! I’m so happy to have become such a motivated person!

As thinking about three years ago, I couldn’t write, read or communicate in English at all. I had hated English as a subject since I was a student. My first journal entry was horrible. However, I had some dreams that I really wanted to make come true. If I wanted to make them come true, I needed to study English again and improve my English comprehension skills.

It was very tough for me to keep a diary in English every day at first. On the other hand, it became easier for me to write in English six months later. I realized that to express my feelings, thoughts, ideas and what happened to me every day in English was fun. When I started to keep a diary, I also started to speak English every day. I became friends with native English speakers, and I spoke English every single day.

Of course, I don’t think that my English skills are enough. I’m  also still not satisfied with my current skills. I have a lot of room to have to improve my skills in English. However, thanks to keeping up on these things, I can express almost everything in English right now. I also could expand my horizons a lot. English made some of my dreams come true.

Actually, I started to receive some requests to show my artwork in foreign countries. I also started to receive some orders from some people to buy my works. I’m quite enjoying the process that my dreams are coming true.

We have the old proverb “石の上にも3年” (ishi no ue ni mo san nen) in Japanese. It means if people would like to master something, they have to practice at least for three years every single day. After three years, they can learn the basic things of what they really want to master. So, I just mastered the basic English. I have to keep on studying it further to make my dreams come true! Way to go!!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daisy
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 10:55:07

    Happy Anniversary =)
    This is nice post. it gives motivation to study hard ^^

    Reply

    • yumi
      Nov 15, 2011 @ 11:00:05

      Hi, Daisy. Thanks for the comment! I’m happy you read the blog entry. Actually, I have been enjoying studying English. If you can get some good study buddies, you can enjoy it. I really appreciate my friends who have been talking to me on Skype, teaching me English and hanging out with me in America when I go there.

      Reply

  2. Julie
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 03:09:12

    「石の上にも3年」のアイデアはいいですよ。私はもっと練習しなけらばなりません。
    「石の上にも3年」=”3 years even above the stone”?
    Congratulations on your 3 years of study, and your excellent attainments both in English and in art.
    I think it’s been 3 years since I first found iknow and began studying Japanese again, but my persistence hasn’t been as good as yours.
    I’m happy that I can now follow you on wordpress, since I just joined myself. You are the first blogger that I will follow here!

    Reply

  3. yumi
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 10:23:42

    Hi, Julie. Thanks for the comment. You can’t translate the old saying directly. It doesn’t make sense at all. Thank you so much for encouraging me. I’m very glad. In addition, thanks for subscribing my blog! I’m very glad I’m the first person for you to follow!!! It’s very honor for me!!!! I love making efforts and trying to make my dreams come true. It’s my life style. It’s not hard for me at all. I really enjoy the process.

    Reply

    • Julie
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 18:27:48

      You inspire me, Yumi!

      Reply

      • yumi
        Dec 05, 2011 @ 00:06:19

        Hi, Julie. Thank you so much for the comment! I’m very sorry to reply to you too late. I had been very busy to take many painting classes both in Osaka and Tokyo. I will link your blog to my art blog! Thank you for everything!

  4. deanmu
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 23:17:10

    I’d love to read all of your posts since i also would like to mastering english as well as you do. I think i can get so many informations and new vocabs from you. Thanks a lot to write such good journal in english. I have been really motivated by now and then….

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 05, 2011 @ 00:09:32

      Hi, Deam. Nice to meet you. Thank you so much for the comment. I started to follow you. I’m glad to meet you. I also can learn a lot from your blog entries. My English never ever sounds 100% perfect yet. However, I’d like to make a lot of efforts and try to make it close to perfect. I hope your dreams also will be able to come true! Your blog also becomes good motivation for me to keep on my blog!

      Reply

  5. niasunset
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 12:10:17

    I am so sad to hear your uncle’s death. Rest In Peace.

    Dear Yumi, Japanese cultures is a very rich one. The differences make us rich too, as St.Exupéry says. I would like to learn more about Japanese Culture. I always interested. Especially Haiku poems… Do you know dear Yumi, poetry helped my English to improve… This is an excellent way to improve your language. But you should love poetry… otherwise it doesn’t work. In poetry the expressions and the pure touches of the words are great… You read a heart of a soul, so you can find yourself in this culture too, like being in Japanese or in UK… I think like that dear Yumi. I learned English language in school when I was a young girl. But it was almost technically… no practice. And then I went to UK to improve my language and I stayed one year in there. After coming back to my country life’s wind took me into a different stories… and I forgot this language… Ten years ago I started to write and to read in English language… and here I am… I love this language and but it takes time… Still I can’t say I am very well about this. I’ve been still learning and trying to improve my language. I just wanted to share with you my experience, you are doing great.

    Happy Anniversary! Good luck too. Thank you, with my love, nia

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 23, 2011 @ 10:10:54

      Hi, nia. Thanks for the wonderful comment. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with me. I’m very happy. Yeah, I also think there is no goals for learning languages. Since we started to study them, we have to study them until we die. Sounds like very tough. So, we have to enjoy the process, right?

      Reply

  6. adari
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 14:16:04

    One of my favourite 諺 is 石の上にも三年。When I reached my third year here in Japan, I realized I already made my dream come true about coming to Japan, and needed to decide if to stay or to go. I decided in my head: 石の上にも三年が立ってから、千里の道が始まります。 And I realized I wanted to stay. I’m glad that you found me today, Yumi!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 18, 2013 @ 22:31:43

      Hi, Adrai

      Thanks for visiting one of my blogs and leaving the comment! I’m also glad that you became friends with me!
      I love 石の上にも3年たってから、千里の道が始まります。I totally agree with you.
      If we want to do something, I think we should try at least for three years, then we can learn a lot of things. They makes our horizons wilder and we realize that we can learn more things. Such the wonderful saying!

      I’m really looking forward to hearing from your adventures in the U.S from now on!!! Good luck!!!!

      -Yumi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

