A Very Popular Japanese Resort, Karuizawa

A couple of days ago I went to Karuizawa with my family. It was my first time to go there in one year and  eight months after I moved to my current place where I live. The place is one of Japanese resorts. It is famous that there are several Japanese royal family’s and rich people’s second houses that have tennis courts or swimming pools. There are many Japanese artist, writers, politicians, companies’ CEO’ second houses there. Since the place is in 1000m higher than the sea level, it is much cooler. So, many people gather there to avoid the heat in summer.

Actually, there is a gigantic outlet shopping mall there. So, we went there to enjoy the temperature and the atmosphere of Karuizawa. We also enjoyed shopping there. Although the place is in Nagano prefecture where I lived before, Japanese boarding trains, called ” Shinkansen ” stop there. That’s why many people from major cities come.

We also saw many people. Some of them spoke with standard Japanese, on the other hand some of them spoke with a Kansai dialect. I think that Karuizawa is one of the best resort places in Japan. We have some public bathes,  called, ” Onsen “. We also have a place for skiing there. People can ski in winter.

Since Karuizawa is one of the oldest resorts, there are many historical buildings there. Karuizawa was created as a resort place for foreigners who lived in Japan first. So, at that time there were many modern buildings here and there. Although it already changed kind of historical buildings, it still seems to be attractive. The very famous British band, Beatles’ vocalist, John Lennon loved the place. Hotel Manpei ( 万平 ホテル ) is very popular as he stayed there.
I especially love looking around old houses for rich people. The town seems to be more modern recently, but there are lots of nature. So, we can enjoy bird watching there. It is one of my favorite places to spend time in the  summer.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deanmu
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 07:25:02

    very beautiful landscape….. i wanna go there someday 😀

    Reply

    • yumi
      Oct 02, 2011 @ 16:30:22

      Hi, deanmu. Thanks for the comment. I am glad that you like the Japanese scenery. I hope you will be able to visit Japan and come there some day!

      Reply

  2. niasunset
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 12:35:27

    Beautiful, so beautiful,…. I dreamed to be there… I wish to visit Japan one day… This plave, Karuizawa… reminded me a very famous name and my one of favurite ones, “Akira Kurosawa”… I don’t know but my mind jumped to his name and to one of his masterpiece, “Rhapsody in August”… How many times I watched I can’t remember… and I can watch again too. Thank you dear Yumi, today I was almost in Japan. With my love, nia

    Reply

    • yumi
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 13:22:10

      Hi, Nia. Nice to meet you. I’m happy to meet you here. Thanks for such many comments on my blog entries. I’m so glad. I’m a lazy blogger, and I haven’t updated my blog for a while. However, you motivated me a lot. I’d like to become a more diligent blogger.

      I’m very glad that you enjoyed the scenery. I posted other beautiful scenery on my newest entry. I hope you like it. It will take a long time for me to leave comments to all your comments. So, please give me some time!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

