Japanese Gestures

I think learning gestures is one of the good things for us to study other languages. After I wrote about a journal entry for today in English, I realized that it might be interesting for people who are interested in Japanese culture and Japanese language to learn our gestures. So, I would like to post the blog entry today.

Japanese people cannot understand this Western gesture.

When I looked at the gesture, I thought people tried to pretend a crab, lol. However, when I chatted with my Texan friend, he taught me how to use and the meaning of the gesture. It was very interesting.

I would like to share Japanese gestures with you.

Actually, I didn’t know that Western people looked at our ” no thanks ” gesture, they imagined that it meant stinky until I watched the video clip. It is very interesting! I hope you can enjoy watching it.

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 12:57:00

    Haha I saw those guys before…they are pretty good. I like their show…..I knew a couple of the gestures from JapanesePod101 videos. Thanks for putting this one up!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 08:56:21

      Hi, Michael. Thanks for the comment. Yeah, learning gestures is a really good way for us to learn other languages. They have updated some video clips. While I was in Michigan last time, I learned a new word, ” Holly Morry ” from my Michigan friend. I would like to use the word when I go to America next time even though it is not a gesture, hahaha.

      Reply

      • Michael
        Aug 02, 2011 @ 11:13:45

        Hahaha I posted a link to your FB page….

      • yumi
        Aug 02, 2011 @ 12:27:14

        Hahaha, thanks for the link, Michael. I will check it out later! Actually, I dont know how to use the word. Some of my American friends taught me how to use it in my conversations. Holly shit……. or something like that. However, I dont want to say the word. My American friends also told me that the word is for guys, though, lol. I like learning new expressions from my American friends. So, thank you so much for posting it on my FB page!!!

  2. deanmu
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 03:36:16

    it’s always interesting to learn gesture since every countries has it and have different meaning. Nice post

    Reply

    • yumi
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 08:57:31

      Hi, deanmu. Nice to meet you. Thanks for visiting my blog, and leaving the comment. I have been blogging constantly. So, please keep on checking it out!

      Reply

  3. Daisy
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 13:44:19

    I’ve never seen these video before.
    they are very fun and interesting.
    thank you ^^

    Reply

    • yumi
      Nov 12, 2011 @ 13:46:37

      Hi, Daisy. Thanks for the comment. On the blog, I’ve been introducing Japanese culture in English. I haven’t updated any blog entries for a while. So, in a week, I will update my next blog entry. Please keeping on check out both of my blogs in English!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

