It Made Me Giggle

When I go to America, I sometimes see Japanese products whose names sound very funny for Japanese people. While I was in Michigan last time to take some painting classes, my American friend, Gay took me to a cooking school. It was extremely fun! It was my first time to go to the cooking school in America. However, the cooking school was different from normal ones. We don’t cook, and two chefs show us how to cook while they are explaining. We can learn how to cook from the recipes and the explanations. After they finish explaining, they serve the dishes to all of us. It looked like a live cooking show. So, there are lots of guys there. Many people enjoy drinking some wine while eating. We enjoy eating, drinking and chatting. I thought the idea was extremely good. Although I sometimes couldn’t understand what the chefs said, Gay helped me, and I enjoyed it.

Meanwhile, I found a very funny stuff at the school. It was plain Somen. It is a kind of Japanese nodule, but the name is very funny for us. When Japanese people look at the name, everybody start to giggle. The name was ” とも白髪そうめん”( tomoshiraga somen ). The package was also very weird for me. One of Japanese Gods called 布袋 ( hotei ) was printed on the package. I guess Somen looks like humans hair, so it is called 白髪 ( shiraga ) because shiraga means white hair. However, why is it called Tomoshiraga? It means that kind of ” Till death do us part” in Japanese. In addition, why Hotei is printed on the package? He is a balding. He might look one of Chinese mountain hermits. I still can’t understand the parts.

Anyway, I like finding out such strange Japanese stuff in America. So, when I will go to America next time, I would like to find some weird stuff and share them with you here.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 17:06:24

    I always like to see the funny things that our different languages and cultures bring about!! By the way Yumi I never knew that Mt. Fuji looked like a piece of “corn” 🙂

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jun 27, 2011 @ 22:34:39

      Shoot! I am regretting I didn’t check out my spelling with a spell checker. I guess you will treat me for a while with this topic, hahaha. Anyway, thanks for the comment. I just got home from Tokyo, and I am sorry not to reply to you soon!

      Reply

  2. Michael
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 01:44:51

    HAHA the spell check would not have caught that…check out the link i posted of the Japanese photographer…

    Reply

  3. Peke Penguin
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 16:25:33

    Hi Yumi.
    I’ve just linked to your blog.
    Peke

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 16:35:24

      Thanks for the comment, and thank you so much for linking my blog into yours! I really appreciate you! I also have linked your blog into all my blogs; The spirit of Japan, My porcelain painting blog and 絵付けと英語とわたし. You can check out from my blog roll.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

