Faces

I look very young than my real age since I was younger. I have a 16 year old daughter, but nobody imagines that I have such a teen aged daughter. People sometimes think that I am single. Many my friends say that I don’t seem to have a family. So, when I start to talk about my family, people who don’t know about me well sometimes surprise.

When I go to America, it is difficult for American people to guess my age because they aren’t used to seeing Japanese people so often. They sometimes think that I am a teenager. I receive many questions that relates to my age and my family ( in short I have been married or not ). When I say true, all of them draw their jaws. They say I have no wrinkles on my face, but I have many tiny wrinkles on my face. My voice sounds adorable because I can’t speak English as a native English speaker. My voice pitch sounds higher than Western people. I guess all of them show me younger than my real age.

I think about faces. I think faces express our passed life very well. I have heard about that after people turn over 40 years old, their faces start to express how they have been living in their life. When people feel many stress, they might have many deep wrinkles on their faces. The people whose mouth angles look down might have been complaining about many things every day. I know some people who look more attractive after they got older. My husband is one of them. I think if the person seems ageless, that means he or she has been spending happy life for a long time without any stress. However, we can’t do that alone. I really think my husband makes me happy as always, so that’s why I seem ageless. I make my husband happy as always, so that’s why he looks more attractive after getting older and older.

Look at your face with a mirror. What do you think about your face? I don’t agree that I seem ageless, but I can tell you that I always look very happy.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michael
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 12:30:48

    “Every man over forty is responsible for his face.” – Abraham Lincoln

    Read more: http://www.answers.com/topic/quote-4?subject=Faces&s2=Faces#ixzz1OUxnS5yj

    Reply

  2. yumi
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 13:13:59

    Hi, Michael. Thanks for the comment. I have heard about the Lincoln’s saying before. Have you read Analects? In Japan we have to study about Confucius at high school. I already forgot most of them, but I still remember the Analects. He also said kind of the similar things like Abraham Lincoln. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Analects
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confucius

    Reply

  3. Michael
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 01:45:31

    I have seen some, I just found a site that lists more…I will look at that also.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jun 07, 2011 @ 07:11:47

      That’s good. What do you think about it? I think learning about Confucius is helpful for you to learn Japanese people’s thoughts. We are influenced by Chinese philosophers. I think you learn Western philosoohers more, and we learn Chinese them more at school.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

