Do You Think That English Is A Common Language For Us?

I am an English learner, and I have been conversational English to fulfill my dreams. However, I am doubting if English is really a common language in the world or not. That is because after I have made a lot of International friends on social network service site, English sometimes does not work out to my International friends.

Actually, I have some good International friends who are interested in art, and English is not their first language. We enjoy exchanging e-mails, but some of them cannot write in English. They always write to me in their own language.

When I receive their text messages in their mother language, it is very difficult for me to understand what they want to say even if I translate them into English with a translator.

When I was a student, all my English teachers taught me that English was a common language in the world. So, if we would handle English, we could communicate with people from overseas easily. However, I really do not think it is true right now. There are so many people who do not know how to communicate people in English all over the world.

Luckily, even though my friends cannot communicate with me in English, we use a translator and try to understand each other. However, it is very troublesome. Especially, when I receive a long mail from them, translator sometimes does not work out for me. On the other hand, since we cannot use each other’s language, unfortunately English is still our kind of common language. Do you think that we can say English is a common language in this situation?

11 Comments (+add yours?)


  1. Apr 19, 2011 @ 22:46:59

    You seem to have befriended a lot of very old people. You learn English since class 1 in Germany. English is *the* language.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 02:45:05

      Hi, Andi. Thanks for the comment. Yes, most of my friends who can’t handle in English are elderly people. However, most of my friends who can paint and speak English are close to them in age as well. In shorts, most of my International friends who can paint are kind of elderly people. Most of my classmates are such people. So, if I went to Europa and took some painting classes, I would have to communicate with the people who are not good at English. That is the problem for me.

      Reply

  2. WC
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 11:19:42

    English is a ‘common language’ not because everyone speaks it, but because more people in more countries speak it than any other language. (Technically Chinese has more speakers, but they’re mostly in China.)

    Look at it this way: If you wanted to pick the language that would let you talk to people in the most countries, which language would it be? English!

    Personally, I wish Esperanto would really catch on. It’s a lot easier to learn than 99% of languages and could really let people meet each other. But there just aren’t many people in the world who can speak it. (Estimate vary wildly, but it’s less than a million.)

    Reply

    • yumi
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 12:51:53

      Hi, william-san. Thanks for the comment! Yes, I know what you mean. Of course, if I try to communicate with people from overseas, I will speak to them in “English”. So, I still believe that English is a sort of common language, but I sometimes don’t know if English is really a common lanauge because there are so many people who can’t speak in English in the world!!

      Reply


  3. Apr 20, 2011 @ 22:24:47

    well if it’s indeed the case that most of the people you speak to may have a hard time with english, there’s nothing you can do. impossible to learn french, spanish, german, danish and what have you in a short amount of time.

    the younger the people you’re communicating with, the higher the chance they speak english. i’m in my 30’s, and every german in their 30’s should atleast understand it. most of them can speak it. some got enough practice to speak it fluently, even tho english is useless in germany. theoretically, we can live until we die without ever needing it.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Apr 22, 2011 @ 16:27:38

      Thanks for the comment, Andi. Thanks also for the information. Actually, I am very curious about the German people’s English skills because I would like to go to your country to take some painting classes. However, I think it might be possible for me to take some German artists classes in America in English.
      That’s because the artists who come to America to teach their techniques can speak English. I think that’s why they come to America. I am planning to go to Georgia next February and March and take three classes. I will take an American artist class, German artist class and Brazilian artist class. So, I will be able to make sure their skills.

      In addition, my Arizona friend’s husband is a German guy. However, I can’t understand what he says because he speaks English with a very strong German accent even though he has lived in America for 50 years and his wife is an American. So, if I really want to communicate people who are from overseas, I have to improve my English skills further or I have to study other some European languages.

      Reply


  4. Apr 22, 2011 @ 16:55:35

    hmm.. it’s always hard to gauge your own skill. but i guess if you understood me, you’ll understand every german up to 30. i may have more practice than other german people, but the younger generation should atleast theoretically be very good.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:07:04

      I have no trouble with you. I can understand your Englisgh very well because yours is much more milder than my American friend’s husband’s. I think that elderly people are much more interested in porcelain painting. So, I think I have to be used to their strong accent and their speaking way if I would like to take some classes in German. However, it is my imagination. I have never taken any classes in Germany yet.

      Reply

    • yumi
      Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:11:35

      Anyway, thanks for subscribing my blog!

      Reply

  5. Alfonso Alava
    May 17, 2011 @ 17:05:51

    Hi, Yumi! How are you? It’s been a long, long time since we last talked. And you haven’t been updating your blog either. I still have the picture of the white horse that you painted. By the way, I have a blog too. You may check it out. Here: http://typicallifeofapoorman.blogspot.com/

    Reply

    • yumi
      May 21, 2011 @ 14:31:44

      Hi, Alfonso! Long time no see!! Thanks for the comment. Yes, I hadn’t updated my blog for a while because I went to America! I am very sorry.

      Today I updated my blog entry. I hope that you like it. I painted two projects while I was in America. I will also update my art blog sooner or later. Please give me a bit time. I miss our conversations! Talk to you soon!

      I will go to your blog. Thanks for sharing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

