Tokyo Now

I am very sorry I have not updated my blog for a long time. However, no worries. I am fine.

I went to Tokyo yesterday to take my regular painting class for the first time in three weeks. When I arrived at Tokyo station, I was surprised because the station was dark. In short, since Tokyo has to provide a lot of electricity to the area where the quake hit, there is the lack of electricity. So, all signs, vending machines for tickets, kiosks, information corners and all shops in the station were dark. I also realized that there were no advertisements that relate to leisure in the station even if it is in a spring break. Because of the lack of electricity most of the amusement parks has been closing. We do not know since when Tokyo Disney Land will open again. A lots of sports events and music concerts were cancelled. While I was walking around the Tokyo station, I heard the announce that we cannot use all trains that bound for Tofoku because of the affection of the earthquake many times.

I also heard lots of stories about the quake from my painting teachers and my friends. All of them shared their experiences. Even if I really did not feel any sharking, they sometimes said that they felt sharking while we were painting. When someone said like that, all of them seemed to be kind of panicked and very scared. I could guess that how much they received damage from this quake. One of my painting teachers said that she still feels a stomachache. One of my friends said that she feels sharking all the time. My best friend said that she sometimes feels dizzy. All of them have after effects because of the quake.

After class, my best friend and I stopped by a department store. However, it also surprised me a lot because it was also very dark.

Tokyo was the hottest place in Japan before the quake. However, right now many people are scared aftershocks, and they seemed to be depressed. All my friends said that Tokyo seemed to be sick. I do not like this Tokyo. However, what can I do? How do I encourage my friends and teachers in Tokyo? Many people do not realize that how much we were affected by the earthquake in a mental way.

When we turned on the TV, we can not watch regular commercials. All commercials are related to the quake. We cannot enjoy watching even TV. Many regions consider about the victims and cancelled many spring festivals and events including viewing cherry blossoms. Such kinds of everything makes us depressed. I hope we will get better as soon as possible in a mental way, and we will be able to smile from the bottom of our heart.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 風
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 19:15:22

    Thanks for shaing this, Yumisan 😉

    Reply

  2. Matthew
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 10:43:16

    I can understand the fear that your friends have. I think after any traumatic event people become very scared. I know after being in a car wreck before when I was younger, it took me a long time to drive without feeling any stress of getting in another car wreck.

    I think time will cure the Japanese spirit. Japanese people are some of the most mentally strong people, so I know they will recover.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Mar 31, 2011 @ 07:50:23

      Hi, Matt. Thanks for the comment. I didn’t know that you also have such a scary trauma. Thanks for sharing. Yeah, I also think time will be able to solve our trauma. I don’t know why we feel so depressed, but our atmosphere is worst, I think. We can’t enjoy our life right now because of this situation. Everything makes us feel depressed. It is really sad.

      I am not sure if we are strong people in a mental way. However, I would like to believe in the strong Japanese spirit, called 大和魂(yamato damashii). Since a long time ago, we have inherited the spirit. That’s why we never give up!

      Reply

  3. Echo
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 15:59:08

    Well, that is Tokyo now. Tokyo tomorrow will be a different one. The sun will always rise. The cherry blossoms will smile once again. 🙂

    Great post!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 16:03:34

      Thank you so much for the possitive comment! Yes, I also believe in that.
      I can’t wait fot the cherry blossoms’ season!!!

      Reply

  4. Iwan Satya Sutandi
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 10:06:00

    tokyo is attractive always…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

