A Sad Stoy ~ To The Memory of My Late Friend, Mr. Bill Boyd

Today I would like to share my sad story with you. I had been corresponding an elder American guy eighteen years ago. Although you can not imagine that I was a teddy bear artist from my current carrier, I was into it. I met him on a Teddy Bear magazine. I posted my handmade teddy bears’ pictures on the magazine, and the guy sent me a mail. I am a big fan of Teddy Bears and have corrected them a lot for a long time. I also had been making miniature teddy bears at the time. My corresponding friend, Bill Boyd was a popular collector of teddy bears, and he had a teddy bear convention in Kansas City.

After two years, he invited me his convention. At the time I started to entry some teddy bears’ contests, and I had received some awards in Japan. I was kind of popular as a teddy bear artist in Japan. Since I wanted to try to entry my miniature bears in his convention’s contest, I went to Kansas City with my family. My daughter was only six months old.

I had a great time there. I got a first prize of miniature category. I met lots of teddy bear artists there. I met Bill’s best friend, Linda there. Although Linda was a small elder lady, she laughed out loud and seemed to be energetic. I could not communicate people in English very well, but I made lots of friends there. I could not remember how I communicated with people in English. I guess that I communicated with them with a body language, written English and oral English.

After the convention, Bill invited us his house. My husband and he also became good friends. He showed his wonderful teddy bears’ correction to us. While we had been staying at his house for two weeks, he took around us a lot. We went some teddy bear shops, shopping malls, teddy bear and miniature museums, some historical places in Kansas City.

After I returned to Japan, while I was raising my daughter, I worked as a part time math teacher and a teddy bear artist. However, it was very difficult for me to do them at the same time. I lost interested in making teddy bears gradually. After I moved to another place, I lost both Bill’s and Linda’s address. I have lost keep in touch with them for a long time.

After 14 years, when I started to learn conversational English, I remembered him. I tried to look for him via the Internet, but I could not find him. However, a couple of days ago, I had an idea to use facebook, and I might be able to look for him. I received a very sad news yesterday. He already passed away. Linda also dead. I am very sad and regretted a lot. I also cannot believe in his death because Billy and my father were same in age, and my father is still very fine. I received some information about him from someone who knows him on facebook. After he suffered with heart problem, he moved into a nursing home. He dead three to four yeas ago. It is too sad. I cried yesterday, but he never returns back. All I have to do is to pray his soul will rest in peace.

I realized that life is short, and in addition in my left life how many friends I will meet. I would like to keep in touch with my friends without regretting.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chezzyr
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 21:15:50

    Hello! In the 1990s I also corresponded with Bill Boyd. Like you I also had trouble finding information about Bill but now I have seen your blog. I am very sad to read that he passed away. Today I have been reading some old letters and articles that Bill sent me during those years. Thankyou for writing about Bill in your blog.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:14:54

      Thanks for the comment. Your comment reminds me of Bill. He was a really nice my friend. I met him in person and attended the convention once. What’s a coincidence, isn’t it?
      I think that Bill let me be friends with you. Do you still collect Teddy Bears? I’ve been still collecting them. Let’s pray for his soul. Let’s sometimes reminds of him.

      Reply

      • yumi
        Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:34:03

        I remember your name. I think we also had been corresponding at that time. I have a penpal from Australia. Don’t you remind of my name? I’m from Japan. I bought two or three Cheekis of Merrythought from you. Didn’t you have the business? I hope you are the peason! If you are her, I’m so glad to meet you again! Oh, my goodness! Am I friends with you on Facebook?

      • chezzyr
        Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:42:53

        Yes, I am Cheryl 🙂 I have teddy bear pictures on my website (look section “collectables & nostalgia”). Remember we talked about teddy bears and Leo the White Lion? Nice memories.

  2. yumi
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 02:35:48

    I’m very happy to meet you again! As thinking about at the time, my English was terrible! I have no idea how to communicate with you in English, lol. I’m still struggling with it, though. Thanks for letting me know about your website! I will go there, and check it out!! I also chanced my career. I have become a painter. I’ve been keeping an art blog. Here is the URL: http://sommerstein0411.wordpress.com/
    If you have some extra time, Please check it out. I have been posting a bunch of my work pictures.

    Reply

  3. Cheryl Ridge
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 09:46:18

    Hi Yumi! I’d be very happy if you could tell me what little Cheekys you have (name, code, colour etc) as I am making a list. And Merrythought also emailed me a listing but I think it not complete. Your information will help me. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

