A Japanese Doll

Today I would like to introduce Japanese dolls called “市松人形 ( itimatsu ningyo)”. Since I was a child, I have loved these dolls. So, when I had my daughter, I asked my mother to buy her a Japanese doll for her 雛祭り ( hinamatsuri). Hinamatsuri is a festival for girls. I will write about it another time.

My daughter’s Japanese doll looks very pretty.  The doll is wearing a Kimono made from silk. There is some lovely needlework in the Kimono. Her face also looks very beautiful.

I also have other dolls. Those dolls are specific dolls for me. One is a boy, and the other is a girl. The dolls were my grandmother’s on my mom’s side. Since I was young, I have loved these dolls. When I visited my grandparents’ house, I always looked at them. They were in a decorated  glass case. Although I have never asked my grandmother where she bought them. I think she brought them to her new house when she got married. She might have grown up with them because they look like antiques. A pair of ichimatsu dolls is kind of rather rare right now. I have not often seen many boy’s dolls . So, I think my grandmothers’ dolls are valuble.

After my grandparents died, my mother and her siblings sold their house. When I heard about that from my mom, I wondered what happened to the dolls. I knew my mother had five siblings, and they shared my grandparents’ stuff with them. However, if noone wanted the dolls, I wanted to keep them in my house. So, I asked my mom if I could get them. Luckily for me, nobody wanted them. In addition, my mother had  the dolls’ kimono fix at a Japanese doll shop, and she paid for it.

I received the dolls a couple of months ago. When I got them, I thought they looked smaller than when I saw them as a child. However, they still look very lovely. I think after my daughter gets married, and if she will have a daughter, I will give them to my future granddaughter as her hinamatsuri dolls. The dolls are part of our family history. They have been known by my grandmother, my mother and myself in my childhood. They are my treasure because noone can buy them anymore. Every ime I look at the dolls, they remind me of my childhood, my grandparents’ house and my grandmother.

                                                                        My daughter’s dolls

                                                                                                      My grandmother’s doll

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 14:30:24

    This article was very touching. What a nice heritage.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 14:44:28

      Thanks for the comment, David. When my grandmother’s day, playing with a Japanese doll was their favorite. I guess they enjoyed changing their doll’s kimon or taking care of their dolls as their moms. However, right now instead of the Japanese dolls, we grew up with western dolls called barbie.

      Reply

  2. Mr. Mojo Risin
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 05:30:19

    Came across your page through Heart (Rachana) and different cultures is something that I’m interested in. I’m in a rush otherwise I would stay and read what else you have to offer but I can’t. I am looking forward to reading how life in Japan is compared to America. If you have photos of Japan as well (landmarks, places of interest, etc.) I’d love to see them (If they’re not already on a post).

    Til’ next time

    Mr. Mojo Risin

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 09:40:23

      Nice to meet you, Mr. Mojo. I’m glad to receive the comment from you. Yes! Of course. I will introduce Japan, Japanese culter from my view. I will post pictures of Japan. Thank you also for subscribing my blog. I’m so glad!! Look forward to my next entry. I will try my best.

      Reply

  3. Matthew
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 09:49:53

    Wow, my Japanese professor has the same exact doll your daughter has. My professor is a doll collector. She has many dolls from all over the world. I will definitely show her a picture of your grandparent’s dolls. I’m sure she will be very amazed and probably a little jealous.

    Reply

  4. yumi
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:50:49

    Hi, Matt. Thanks for the comment. Yes, please show her the picture. I think that my grandmother will be glad. When you come to my house, I will show you the dolls.

    Reply

  5. Reyna
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 17:39:05

    Hello, my name is Reyna and i love to learn new stuff like japans history and all…and i was wondering that i really like to know…why do the Ichimatsu dolls have to have the same hair styles including the real human girl?

    Reply

    • yumi
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 20:06:37

      Hi, Reyna. Thanks for the comment. I am sorry that I am not an expart of Japanese history. So, I dont know why. However, I guess that the haircut looks cute to everybody, and the haircut was traditonal haircut for both little girls and boys in the Edo era. Thats why all Ichimatsu have the haircut.

      Reply

  6. Yolanda
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 02:14:06

    hello I’m selling this 3 japanese doll let me know is you are interesting

    Reply

  7. sb2711
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 04:05:18

    Where are you yumi!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

