A Japanese Hologram Idol, Hatsune Miku

As you know, anime is very poplar as one of Japanese culture. I know many Japanese learners are very interested in our anime. Today I want to write about Hatsune Miku (初音ミク).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hatsune_Miku

Hatsune Miku is a virtual idol in Japan. Although I’m not familiar with such kind of stuff, through my daughter I’ve heard about her name. When I listened to her singing voice, I felt very awkward because computer programing voice was singing a song.
She is especially popular among middle school kids, high school kids and otaku matures. When you go to a “Nico nico douga(ニコニコ動画)http://www.nicovideo.jp/ It’s kind of Japanese YouTube site.”, you can listen to a bunch of her songs. If you are interested in Japanese pop culture, I suggest you to become a user of Nico nico douga. You can get lots of tips from the website.

When I was chatting with my Texan friend over Skype today, he sent me a very interesting article about Hatune Miku. So, I want to share it with you. http://singularityhub.com/2010/11/09/cant-miss-videos-of-japans-3d-hologram-rock-star-hatsune-miku-in-hd/

Please watch some her YouTube videos. What do you think about them? Miku became a hologram, and she is having many concerts as real humans. When I watched them, I was surprised because I can’t accept a hologram idol as a real idol. However, there are lots of eager her fans and quite enjoying her concerts with her. She sometimes changes her costumes to make them feel happy. Since she is a 3D idol, you can feel that she is singing next to you. I think that’s why many people come to her concert.

My Texan friend and I talked about the Japanese technology after we watched some video clips. Although I really think Miku was created by our technology, this is a very weird part of our culture. On the other hand, I think that she might become a world known singer all over the worlds near future. At the time do you want to go to her concert?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 2010 in review « The Spirit of Japan
  2. Geneviève
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 23:11:56

    I like Miku’s songs and even if it’s a computer I do think her voice is nice. I also think that owning the actual program and being able to record songs that way is an interesting option for people who can’t sing… but as for concerts, I don’t think I could ever attend a concert where it’s not a real person singing… ^^;

    Reply

    • yumi
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 15:43:16

      Thanks for the comment. My opinion is also close to yours. I think for music companies it is a great idea, and I’m sure that even on TV we will become able to watch such hologram idols easily in near future. It is very interesting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

