Which Do You Like Better, Taned Skins or Paled Skins?!

Don’t you mind getting suntan? I think it’s trendy for the western females to have taned skins. On the other hand, it’s trendy for the Asian females to keep paled skins(white skins). Therefore, we tend to hold parasols while we are walking around under the sunshine even if it’s not a rainy day. I really think it’s a part of culture reference.

I’m not sure, but I think that in western countries females whose skins color is tan look more attractive. I guess that many Hollywood stars skin color is also tan, and general people are also affected by the Hollywood stars. If people had taned skins, they might look rich because they had extra money to be able to spend in southern resorted islands. In addition to that, compared to Asian skins, it would take more time to get suntan for western people. In the steps that they become taned skins, first of all, their skins turn red and then they change tan color. Therefore, they might not mind getting suntan such as many Asian females mind it.

On the other hand, in Japan we have a phrase to express about Japanese beauties. We say “Iro no shirosa ha shichinan kakusu(色の白さは七難隠す). That means if skin color of women was while, even if they weren’t attractive, they look more attractive. Therefore, Japanese women love keeping paled skins. However, I prefer western people’s natural skin color to Asian people’s. It looks much more lovely. I sometimes think western females’ natural skin color looks like potteries.

This summer since I have gotten suntan after a long time, I’m afraid of discovering a lot of freckles on my face after the summer season will be over. I really hope I never find freckles anymore.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Purple Lover
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 11:52:26

    Konichiwa!! :). I found your blog from your profile on lang-8 ^^. You’re an inspiration for languages learners,as I am one hehe, :D.
    And about the tanned,pale skin color, I think the similar situation happens here, traditional beauty standard for women includes ” pale smooth skin”, so we always try to hide from the sun as much as possible , I’m really scared of getting ” freckles” . 😀
    Ah by the way, we really admire East Asian Girls ^^,especially Japanese,Korean girls, you have super beautiful skin 🙂 🙂

    Reply

    • yumi
      Oct 20, 2010 @ 22:40:11

      Hi, Purple Lover. Thanks for the comment. Thanks for finding my blog.
      When I was in the U.S., most of my painting friends thought that I’m 25 years old. After they knew my real age, they were sooooooooo surprised at me!!
      It was very funny, but I thought I’m really lucky to have good skins.
      I don’t know well thought, we take much minerals and vitamines more than Western people. I think it’s why we can keep good skins.

      Reply

  2. Marisol
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 16:33:22

    I´m spanish and here women find the tanned skin is beautiful. When I was younger I founded too but now I try not too much because I´m scared of getting freckles too.LOOL
    But where I live we have a strong sun … even if you hide of it you get a little tanned.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Oct 20, 2010 @ 22:36:33

      Hi, Marisol. Thanks for the comment. I didn’t know that Spanish also prefer tanned skins. Thanks for the tip.
      It’s very interesting. Most of the Asian countries, women prefer pale skins. On the other hand, in European countries and America, they prefer tanned skins.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

