Can You Accept a Different Religion?

Are you believed in your religion diligently? Can you accept other religions?

Today I want to share a story with you. As you know I have two guest from America, and they have been staying in my house.
A couple of days ago, I went to a Zen Temple with them. We can meet lots of monks who are practicing there. When monks meet us, they always bow to us. They are very polite.
I love the Zen Temple because it is very calm and Japanese. We can see tones of beautiful statues, curving stuff, buildings there. In addition to that, the view is very lovely. However, it has a relation ship to our religion. Therefore, I was wondering if my friends accepted our religion or not.

However, when I looked at their behavior, I was very inspired. First of all, when they met monks, they received bow to them very politely every time. Secondly, they told me that they wanted to pray with a Japaneses style. After I showed them how to pray, they prayed our God. Before I took them there, I thought that I wanted to give a “jyuzu” which is made from beads, and when we pray, we always use it, to my young friend. However, I wondered if his dad could accept it or not. If he was an eager Cristian, I thought he might not be able to accept he waring it. However, his dad was wonderful! He told me that it was a good experience for his son to expand his knowledge about our religion. My young friend was willing to wear the Buddhist rosary and prayed with a Japanese style. When I looked at it, I was very glad that they respected our religion.

There are lots of competitions against various religions. Some people can’t accept other religions. They are killing each other against their religions. When I listen to such kind of news, I always feel sad. I really think if they could accept and respect other religions, we can get rid of wars from this world. I prayed to our peace with my American friends.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sashasimba123
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 14:23:39

    Nice Journal Yumi! Yeah, I am a Christian and I believe in Christianity diligently. Although the majority of our country’s religion is Christianity, America is home to thousands of Atheists, Hindus, Buddhists, Jews, and more! Then it breaks down: Christianity breaks down to 2 major beliefs: Catholic and Pentecostal. Most religions break down like that.

    http://www.religioustolerance.org/var_rel.htm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

