Do You Believe in The Reincarnation?

Do you believe in the reincarnation? I can’t tell you that most of Japanese people believe in the reincarnation, but at least my mom has believed in it for a long time. Today I want to share my mom’s very funny but kind of sad story with you.

When I was younger, my mom had a white small dog. She loved him very much. Both my sister and I almost grew up, so my mom was taking care of him like her baby. However, when he was eight years old, he became a sickness. My mom looked after him hard, but he died. My mom was very sad about his death, and she told his dead body like that, “When you will be reborn next time, you must be reborn as a human being baby, OK?”

After six or seven years, I got married and got a pregnant my daughter. When my mom listened to the news, she was very glad and had been looking forward to meeting my daughter. At the time, I thought my daughter is her first grandchild, so she was looking forward to meeting her.

However, when my daughter turned three years old, and we were staying at my parents’ house, my mom asked my daughter, “Do you remember when you were my dog before?” When my daughter and I listen to the phrase, we were completely upset. I couldn’t understand what my mom wanted to say. She continued to her conversation to show our previous dog’s dish, ” Do you remember it when you were my dog, you always used it to drink some water?” When I listened to the story, I came to realize that she had believed in reincarnation, and she believed that her dog was reborn as my daughter. My daughter couldn’t understand what her grandmother asked her at the time because she was too young. She just looked like upset.

I guess this story sounds strange and awkward for foreign people. However, the reincarnation has kind of strong relationship with our religion. Therefore, when I listened to her story, I came to realize that how much she loved her dog. In addition to that, It dawned on me that she really really looked forward to meeting her dog as her daughter’s first baby as well. Although I never think her dog was reborn as my daughter, her Chinese zodiac is DOG.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brandon
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 21:56:33

    No, I don’t

    Reply

  2. yumi
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 00:38:26

    Hi, Brandon. Thank you so much for the comment. It’s really hard for me to explain about my opinion, but I sometimes believe in the reincarnation, and I sometimes don’t believe in reincarnation. It sounds very veage, sorry. When I listen to inspiring stories from people, I sometimes belive in the stories.

    Reply

  3. Matthew
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 08:37:41

    Wow, that is a very interesting story. I can see how you would be confused. I am not sure if reincarnation is real or not, but I also have an interesting story like that. I think I told you it before. When I first learned to speak full English sentences as a child, I told my family a strange story that I had a twin sister named Matilda that had died before I was born. I can’t remember any of this because I was too young, but my mom and my brothers always remind me of the strange story I told them. I don’t know how I could think up such a strange story. Maybe I have a wild mind or maybe it was a previous life, I don’t know.

    Reply

    • yumi
      Apr 01, 2010 @ 13:34:47

      Hi, Matt. Thank you so much for the comment. Yep yep, I remembered the story. Before I listened to your story, I thought American people don’t like to tell about spiritual stories, so I was very suprised at it. Your story is also very interesting.
      I’m not such a person who love to tell spiritual stories, but I like to listen to them.

      Reply

  4. djnaff
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 18:36:27

    Very shorts, simple and easy to understand, bet some more comments from your side would be great

    Reply

Leave a Reply

