One of The Zen Temples in Japan

Today I want to introduce one of “Zen” temples in Japan. The temple is called “Eiheiji(永平寺)” and in Fukui prefecuture. The temple is famous with “Daruma(だるま大使)”. He built the temple around in 1200.

I went to the temple with my family and my American friend while he had been staying at my house. Before I’d been there, I never thought it was interesting place for us. However, after I looked at the architectures, I was very surprised! All architectures were very lovely. Since we went there, there were lots of snow here and there, so all temples looked very pretty behind the snow.
Although my daughter isn’t a big fan of temples(I think most young people aren’t interested in looking at them.), she cried, “Wow, mom. Look at them. How pretty they are!!!!!”.

In the temples you can see lots of young monks here and there. Even if it is very cold days like snowing, all of them are bare feet and wear thin outfits. All temples maintain very clean. It is hard for you to figure out garbage. It looks very organized. All young monks are trainee monks. While they maintain there, they’ve been learning about “Zen”.

If you want to try to learn about “Zen”, you also can stay at there and train yourself for one day like young monks. I guess even though you can’t understand about “Zen” perfectly, you can learn the beginning part of it. You can see all temples and gardens.
From now on when my foreign friends come to my house, I would love to take them there. I’m sure all of them would be interested in there.

In addtion to that, if you are curious about the pictures of Eiheiji, please check it out. I have posted some pictures of them here.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/yumiyumayume/

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brandon
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 13:10:52

    Wow. I learned a lot about the Zen temples! Very Interesting and intense stuff!

    Reply

    • yumi
      Mar 21, 2010 @ 17:23:49

      Hi, Brandon. Thank you so much for the comment. Haha, are you interested in Japanese Zen temples? I’m glad to know that. Yeah, this place is one of the lovelies place in Fukui.

      Reply

  2. Tom Shepherd
    May 03, 2010 @ 04:30:21

    Very nice blog, Yumi. I learned a bit about Zen and Japanese culture when I was stationed in Okinawa. Your English is very well done, and you seem to write clearly. I look forward to reading all of your English blog articles.

    Reply

    • yumi
      May 03, 2010 @ 12:09:16

      Wow, thank you so much for the comment, Tom. I’m very glad that you like my blog. Today I went to Japanese masks’ museum with my family. In nearly days I will write about it. At that time I met two American people and chatted them in mixed English and Japanese. I was very happy that I could chat with them in English!!! One of them is working for the city holl in Fukui. The other is working for a junior high school as an assistant langage teacher of English. They are curious about our cuture, so I tried to explain about Japanese masks in English. I’m glad that I could explain about it. After I’ve started to learn English conversation, I’ve met lots of foreigners who are interested in Japan, Japanese culture, Japanese people and Japanese language. Therefore, I want to help such people through my blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

